Short and Sweet


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet
July 1st 2007
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Anti-carbomb sign in BeijingAnti-carbomb sign in BeijingAnti-carbomb sign in Beijing

I'm sorry Osama; No car bombs on this street!
Whoohoo! I know! I made it to Tibet. For some reason I never really thought I would make it here, I don't know why. Maybe it's the fact that it's halfway around the world, 11,400 feet above sea-level, and is a police state controlled by a overwhelming Communist force that imposes harsh bureaucratic 'permits' to get here.
Those could be some of the reasons, but I don't really know. It is very nice either way. The city, and in fact everything I have seen here, the terrain, the people, the blue sky, all of it is so amazing and nothing what I really expected. I imagined huge snow-covered mountains draped with the surrounding glory of peaceful Buddhist Monasteries. There are no huge mountains (relative to the valley that Lhasa sits in), there is no snow, there is only barren terrain, with the random river followed by the glint of brownish-green vegetation. The mountains are desolate; no animals, no vegetation, no nothing. Just rock, sand, and the prayer flags, or 'Freedom' flags that span the peak tops. It is an amazing place.
I want to take a minute, while I remember, to tell people about a well known problem
Great WallGreat WallGreat Wall

oooOOOooo pretty!
I have. I have been hassled by mothers, friends, and probably people I don't even know. I can't speeel! Ok, I get it. I'm sorry. I would really love to take the time to proof-read my writing, but the spell check is none-existent, or in Chinese, which does me little good. I am trying my best, but some nights, after a long day of seeing the-most-beautiful-things-in-the-world, I really don't feel like taking the time to prove I am intelligent enough to spell "luxury," as my second mother so rightly pointed out. The next paragraph will prove my point why spelling is an over-rated skill, used by the 'educated' to make other people feel less so. Let me begin....
Our nxet cuploe of dyas jsut sonud gretaer than I colud hvae eevr iimagned. We are plnannig a fuor day jeep tuor of soturhen Teibt. I dno't konw eactxly waht the itnireary is, but from waht I urndeastnd, it is cmoepletly up to us and the two ohetr teravelrs we are donig it wtih. I konw for srue we are selepnig in a cpoule mnoasteries, trvalenig to the inafmuos Eevrsert Bsae Cmpp, and falnily bnieg dorpepd off at the Npealsee baoredr.
Great Zip-Line-WallGreat Zip-Line-WallGreat Zip-Line-Wall

Randy completing our dream of Zip-lining off of a world monument
It snuods like czray fun. I konw we jsut snpet ten dyas in a big ctiy, and I konw our tmie is rnuning out, but I cna't psas up tihs optnruitoy. I rlaley hpoe we hvae tmie to see all the tnihgs I wnat to, but I am satrttnig to wrory.
Match, and point! I don't really know what that saying means; but I think the people that have been criticising me will cease to do so. Yes, I know that this example of a simple brain technicality, does not really prove my point that spelling is an "over-rated skill, used by the 'educated' to make other people feel less so..." but I think it does a fairly good job. That is all I am going to say on the matter, and I will start spell checking my work, because I want to become a better writer anyway, but Not, becuase other people made fun of me...
On to the glory of Tibet: I have nothing really to add on the place; it has some nice markets where I think I will be able to find some nice Tibetan clothing, maybe a nice knife for my brother, maybe
Great WallGreat WallGreat Wall

This part is really falling apart, my climbing it helps though
a nice knife for myself. I don't know, there is everything here. So if any of you people back home want some 'hand-made' antiquities from Tibet, please let me know, and I will do my best to pay a ridiculously low price for them. Now I will proceed to spent the couple minutes I have remaining to put pictures up (since I know that's what most people look at anyway....).



Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb