Leaving Lhasa


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Gyantse
April 21st 2015
Published: April 21st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Two days ago we let Lhasa on a seven hour bus trip through the MountainS . We drobe over three passes each more than 4000 mètres one was actualité 4700 . The roads were good but Travel is slow with Switch backs . It was a beautiful sunny day and quite warm . We stoppée se réal Times for photos and the spectaculaire viens . There was one area that had a séquence of lakes créât ed by Aa dam . The water was that beautiful blue Green col our . Bluer than Lake Louise and very intense..It was a good journey,.

We arrivée àt a ´small city caillée Gyantse which had been a capital in the 14th century. The mine start there was impressive . I had an intérêts ing encontre there with a little Boy .he took my hand and led me to a cushion on a Lowell wall and indicateur that I should sit he Then walk ed a few stups away and Crawled under /into a blue tarp and pull ed out a puppy. and came and pû tit on my lap . Soon I had thre pû pipes on my lap and he was very phases with ho sels.......are you chuckling yet? His grand ôter was with him and she gave me an amulette And did not want any money . She just places It in,y Palm and flodded my Finges overdose It . I salée Sherab , our guide what It was and he said It was for protection. A good expérience .

The fort in that Town was magnifient although bombée by the British in 1904.

We are now in Shigatse a Town of 70000 .the Tasilunpo Monestry is the largest in Tibet with 800 monks. It is also the only Monestry that is gouvernement supported And homebase to the Panchen-Lama who is second to the Dali Lama. He now lives in Beijing.

Tomorrow We have a 3 hour drive and a noter 4700 mètre pass. I seem to have acclimatiez ed to the altitude with the Hell of Dimox per robes by the Travel clinic . I have gréât confidence in our guides when It comtes to Everest .

Thanks for all the commentS . I Shell try answering some of the questions with hotmail . Enjoy the ´inventivé auto correct that mâles very little sensé but seem ´s to get tt message across.

Advertisement



21st April 2015

Wow! I have to say when I read your blog, I wished I was there. That was an unbelievable with the little boy and his g'ma. They must be able to see your aura. That says volume about you as a person. Safe journeys.
22nd April 2015

Old structures
How wonderful to see those old historic structures; nothing survives even 100 years in Saskatoon. Maybe you don't need electronic devices or written journals anymore, just protective amulets!???. Hope the trip continues to be interesting and safe.
26th April 2015

safe
I hope you and your traveling companions are safe and sound. The news here which is devastating. Be assured of all our prayers. Come home safe.
27th April 2015

Hi Pam. In lieu of the earthquake in Nepal I am worried as you haven't sent any messages. If you are safe, please let us know.

Tot: 0.503s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.2142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb