Our talented "painters"


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
February 25th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wall painting 1Wall painting 1Wall painting 1

Beautiful wall painting on strawberries
For me, this trip has been a discovery of the the many talents of my team members. Today both myself and Diana were rostered to do "wall painting" - which was started by Mee Lar, Amanda, Arlene and Anne.

It was a pretty piece of work - with strawberries happily sprinkled all over the fields. The pix was supplied by "Xiao Liu" from World Vision China and the artists were none other than the 4 ladies above. They did a beautiful job of doing the wall and when we were there, the wall was almost completed with finishing touches being done by Mee Lar.

She gamely climbed on the ladder and did the last two drawings 😊

For myself and Diana, we set about trying to help thread all the cranes into a string and hang them up onto the wall to decorate the room. I am always amazed at the way my team mates can fold cranes, thread needles so efforlessly 😊

I must admit that all these are really challenging areas for me - myself having not thread a needle for as long as i can remember 😞
Diana was patient in encouraging me to try to fold a crane when the supply of our own made cranes ran out. I guess I finally managed to do two cranes under the careful tutorlage of Mee Lar and her.

However threading the cranes also proved to be quite challenging to me. My thread got entangled with the cranes and I end up having to re-do the threading all over again😊

During the lunch break, XiaoLiu managed to arrange a half hour slot for me to share with the teachers how to use the "Magic pens" which I brought from Singapore for their lessons. The vcd was created by Oeinstein and consisted of interesting drawing techniques using the pens as building blocks as well as using his signature squiggles to draw pix of a dog, a snake, a man and a woman. The teachers had fun with using the pens to create spirals, windmills and also a pen holder.

It was fun to see them enjoying the learning and also they were pretty good and fast at picking up these new skills.

In the afternoon I skipped by Baby care duty to try to finish cutting all the animals and "potato men" which
Wall painting 3Wall painting 3Wall painting 3

Mee Lar at work
both Diana and myself have drawn for the past two days. It was with a sigh of great relief that the drawings were finally all cut. Diana went on to do her baby care duty 😊

Arlene, Amanda, Anne and Mee Lar were busy with cutting the pix of the children, grouping them and laminating the pix.

The day ended with another round of English teaching - this time, teaching the teachers how to read the lyricss from the song, "The Eency, Weency, Spider" 😊

I guess I am a better teacher than an arts and craft person or a cook 😊

Pix at






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Wuqing Street sceneWuqing Street scene
Wuqing Street scene

Took a break with Diana out for lunch and saw this beautiful foggy street scene just outside POPCH


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb