The Blessing Thief and The Iron Bladder Day #2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Yibin
February 20th 2012
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The second day Dorothy and I woke up early and went on a hike through a bamboo forest and on a cliff hike. It was so beautiful. We were almost brought to tears several times just by how beautiful and enchanting the clouds were.

Then we went to see several waterfalls (we were able to walk behind one).

Then our guide took us to a mountain top temple and we climbed thousands of stairs. The temple was very colorful and beautiful and well worth the climb. By this time we had actually run out of money, and Dorothy accidentally got blessed by a monk who asked for a donation afterward- she guiltily opened her purse and tried to give them all her change, but they just told her not to bother.

We ate a fitful lunch, bid our helpful guide farewell, and took the bus back to school. The entire bus ride I refused to use the restroom because of fear of going to the bathroom in public (sometimes at reststops they only have squatty potty troughs- and it is quiet honestly the most scaring thing about China). Dorothy threatened to give me the Chinese name "Iron Bladder"
Bamboo railingBamboo railingBamboo railing

Everything here is made from bamboo
instead of something pleasant. But even this threat did not induce me to woman up and use the bathroom... There will be many other trips and opportunities to prove myself brave in that respect.


Additional photos below
Photos: 93, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Heart LocksHeart Locks
Heart Locks

To lock one of these with the name of your special someone is supposed to bring good luck.
Unnecessary for meUnnecessary for me
Unnecessary for me

I already have such good luck, I did not bother :)


20th February 2012

Iron Bladder
What beautiful pictures, Iron. They are gorgeous. Thanks for letting me go on the adventure with you vicariously. The cable car shots were scary but attractive as well. Keep up the curiosity and courage:)
22nd February 2012

Unbelievable
I'm sitting here with my jaw on the floor - that place looks amazing! Absolutely breathtaking! From the pictures, it looked like you had the place to yourself to yourselves haha - were there many other people there? I hope you can continue to find awesome places like this - I'm sure the pictures don't quite do these places justice, but your photography skills are definitely helping bring them to life :D
2nd March 2012

I will not give you the big lecture on the importance of emptying your bladder in a timely fashion to prevent UTI's.......I would be tempted to do the same!! Your pictures continue to be wonderful and I am so impressed with your adventures :)
20th April 2012

LOVE
you are the coolest sister ever!! and you are lucky!!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb