Darje Gompa_A magic scenery and hospitality day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Ganzi
June 19th 2012
Published: June 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What a beautiful place…! 30 km from Garza is Darje Gompa. I had a great time there. There are 3 monks that take care of you there. There are 3 nice gentlemen in their 60ties that I named, the 3 musketeers that do not let you feel hungry or cold. It is in an abandon monastery that now is a guesthouse. It is weird. It is like spending a night in an historic place, such us an old ghetto, or something alike. But it is nice also to recall what this place was before.<span><span>It is located in a valley surrounded by snowy and green mountains.





We wake up early and found a small car that took Marcelo, me a Dutch woman that lives here in China working as an architect; it is a great time to have her profession here. China is a country in construction, everything and everywhere there is something in construction. We took Dorje Gompa direction after witness how Ganzi streets were filling with local police everywhere. They did not have friendly faces. We did not know what it happens. Then we knew there was a new person, a monk in the Quntai province, that self-inmole one day ago.<span> Hopefully I am going in other direction now. The small car had to managed to go throw the bumpy road and succeeded but it got stacked when it need to pass the back door of the monastery in direction to the guesthouse. Local women vendors came to push the car until we finally where in the other side.





I went to the spring water with the architect with my cloth on around local Tibetan that were washing their clothes, kids playing naked and men scrubbing their skin with rocks. <span> Women are not entering to this nature pools. It seems they have another place to go.<span> The water is not so hot but the effect of the water was visible. After being there for an hour I stayed sleepy and tired the rest of the day.





Marcelo skipped this and he went to explore some old ruin towns around Darje Gompa- He came back later on with a big stone with old Tibetan scriptures- That I think it is bringing him bad luck because since then he started to forget things in this journey in far locations and he had to came back many kilometers to pick them up (his lonely planet, his photo camera, etc) even though he refuses to believe this.





During the afternoon I washed cloth and filmed some stuff for my project. One of the musketeer, the serious old man, were very curious looking at my argentine uniform full of tint gushing under the afternoon rain.





Then I played Truco cards with Marcelo and I won! I should have gamble or ask for something, but I did not! During the whole game, the second musketeer, the Gasparin guy was the official person that cut the deck of cards.





I share with the old monks pictures and he was impressed with my sister, Luciana, pregnant belly picture.<span> He never left his town and I am sure he has never seen a pregnant naked belly. He sang with the three monk tangos, folklore, and Argentine Rock 80 song marcha la bronca after they made us vegetarian noodle diner.





Gasparin was by far the funny one. He is a bold monk that takes his tea in an Israli tjina jar and smiles with an open mouth while repeats every Spanish word I was talking.





The dutch woman decided to stay there, Marcelo and I plan to go next day into Manigango. This time neither buses nor minibuses. We were in a tiny village, so the only option was hitchhiking. That is exactly what I envision when I think of adventure, lets start hitchhiking in China-Tibet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb