Jin Li


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
June 7th 2017
Published: June 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I was really surprised when, after school, Daniel, my homestay student, told me we were having dinner out; we usually have dinner at home. But, I was even more surprised when we stopped at some market filled with traditional looking buildings. It was raining most of the time, which was good because everyone was inside so I could see. The stores were mostly those tacky rip-off shops with fake artifacts and paintings. But there were also a lot of street food stalls, traditional silk stores and mini restaurants.

The homestay dad, Yao I think his name is, randomly disappeared and came back after Daniel got me a peach toffee-on-a-stick thing. He led us to a restaurant and we got a table. It was in a traditional building, and the waitresses all wore olden style clothes. We didn’t order anything – the food just kept coming out of the kitchen. There wasn’t any water, so I probably would have ‘died’ if Yao didn’t get me a Pepsi. The food was pretty strange, so I just ate the rice and dumplings before saying I was full. Afterwards, we wandered around the market again. Daniel told me that the market was actually a famous place called Jin Li. I bought a proper silk scarf for my mum, before we walked back to the car. But on the way to the car, the homestay mum bought me a candy horse and a little Chinese toy.

Sienna

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb