Day 7 - Panda breeding research Centre and the Leshan giant Buddha


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
July 29th 2013
Published: July 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 7 - Panda breeding research Centre and the Leshan giant Buddha

We had another early start today. Up at 6.15 for a 7o'clock leave. I had ordered scrambled egg and toast as I knew it was going to be a long day. One room full slept in which caused bother, but we managed to catch up time. We saw quite a few pandas of varying ages at the research centre, and then 3 red pandas ( which I didn't realise existed!) it was interesting to see them; I was pleased I went, but when you've seen, you've seen them. It was a zoo setting, so you were very limited as to what you could actually see.

We left there at about 11am, about half the group had chosen to go to see the Leshan giant Buddah. We met with Rebecca, the guide for today who was another really nice girl. It was a 2 and a 1/2 hour drive. It had been an early start, so as soon as we got on the bus, we relaxed the chairs back, and we all slept for the full 2 and a 1/2 hours! It was really hot by the time we arrived. We had lunch at a small local restaurant, more fried rice! but this time we had some thinly sliced potatoes with quite a lot of chilli on them. i think they were light,y fried! they were nice. we have to remember that around Chengdu, it is all about the chilli !

We had decided to go round the viewing pout by boat, as we were a bit short on time. Thank goodness we had made that choice. When we saw the amount if steps, and the ridiculous incline, and feeling the heat...... This was such a good choice! The Buddha was HUGE! She is a phenomenal site. She is carved out in the rock with the water of the River Ming around her feet. This trip was well worth the long sleeping journey.

I have been suffering with really bad stomach cramps, followed by hot sweats today. I have taken some Chinese medicine off Sally, the guide, hopefully I will improve overnight. I think it could be the excessive chilli!! We arrived back at Mr Panda's Hostel at about 7.15, which was just in time to set off for the next night train. Tonight we are on a 15 hour overnight train to Xian. We expect to arrive at about 9am.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



29th July 2013

hey
hiya mum, its Monday morning here, ive just got to work. It was real nice to open my emails and see a new blog update :) x the panda's look amazing - I bet seeing the red ones was great!! It seems ur enjoying more different foods :) I was chuckling about the other room - sleeping in!! I bet ur OCD went into over drive! xxxxxx we've had a right eventful weekend. arrrggghhhh mum its sooooo exciting - I cant keep off toilet!!! I went to the studio on Saturday and we spent some time there measuring up and stuff!! ive got a list as long as my arm of jobs & things to do! ive even debating making a spreadsheet!! hahaha!!! cant wait to see the next blog :) not sure if u'll pick this up today - as uve said you on a long train journey - but im in the office all day if u wanna facetime me xxxx xxxxxxxxxxxx
29th July 2013

That's a Buddah!
Love the "square jugs life jacket" shot! Take care.B&S XX

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb