Day 6 - The sunset at Yangshuo and the night train to Cheng Du


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
July 27th 2013
Published: July 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 6 - The sunset at Yangshuo and the night train to Cheng Du
Some of us got up at 5am to see the sunset before leaving Yangshuo. It was pitch black, and we were not 100% sure of where we were going! I do have a torch in my bag, but didn't think to bring it, and neither did anyone else! Sally gave us vague directions last night. Nevertheless less, off we set!

I did feel this morning that my back hurts more; time has passed since the hot cupping, I feel that I have been hit repeatedly with a big stick, and I don't seem to be having any benefits for all this discomfort!

We found the park entrance ok, entered, and walked on. We were to look for the pagoda at the side of the mountain!!!! Half an hour on....... It was still too dark to see clearly, but we had at leafy gained some night vision by now. We found some steps, so started climbing up. To be honest, if I had of known how far it was, and how high, I would have probably stayed in bed! We did finally make it. We sat patiently waiting for 6.03am, which was when the sun was due to rise......... We waited a little longer...... And a littler longer again...... There was no clear rising of the sun due to the clouds!!! We weren't too disappointed as it had been a bit of a laugh.

We set off back down the steps discussing having McDonalds for breakfast. By the time we got near, I was just about tasting it. We got there at 6.50am, ten minutes before they opened. It was torture sat outside waiting. I can't stress how much I enjoyed that Maccie D breakfast. It felt like a feast!!!

The next job when arriving back at Monkey Jaynes was to finish packing ready for the move today. We have an hour and a half on coach, then 24 hours on an overnight train to Cheng Du. I nodded all the way on the coach; it must have been the 5am start! I was pleasantly surprised on the train. It was better than I expected. I did say to Charlie on a couple of occasions - expect the worse you can handle, anything better than that is a bonus! I got a middle level bed, which allows me to see put of the opposite window , the beds seem, 'relatively' clean, but I am going to use my bag liner, just in case! It is now 12.15am. We have been on the train for nearly 11 hours. I have had a steady flow of food, mostly breakfast bars (a bit like Garibaldi) a sandwich, (which was completely squashed and unrecognisable, but still ok!) crisps, ( a loose definition, cucumber flavour...gross, but still ate them) and my little great of M& M's which I have rationed so I can have more treats later!)

I have been listening to a Terry Pratchett book on my iPod, but kept falling asleep, so the battery has gone dead, now I am watching The Hobbit on my iPad, but I think I have actually slept for the most of the time so far! I have finally ventured to the toilet. I did put it off for a long a possible, and do you know what.... It wasn't so bad! I wish I had gone a couple of hours ago... Lol

It is now 6.40. Just over 17 hours done, only about 7 more to go! I started the morning off with an apple, that made my mouth feel a bit better! I have been sleeping on and off for the whole journey. I guess it's because you are laid down all the time, you can't help but nodding off all the time. I feel like Rumplestiltskin! It weird, each time I wake up, someone different is in the beds around me!

It is now about 2.40pm and we have arrived at Mr. Panda's Hostel in Chengdu.

At 4pm we had a Mandarin lesson; to be honest, it went in one ear, and straight out the other. At 5pm some of us went for a massage. I got the blind fellow! I had a full body massage which took an hour, for only 35 yuan! It was great! It was as if he knew exactly where my back, shoulder and neck pains where, as he seemed to work extra hard just in the right areas. I fell asleep whilst he was massaging me. I came out feeling sooooo much better!



Tonight we are going for a Sichuan Hot Pot, which is a Cheng Du local dish. Sally, the guide, did explain to us the importance of chilli in this area, so I am guessing it will be hot! We have a full day tomorrow with no Internet, and another overnight train, so I will get back to you when I can x


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



27th July 2013
image

Old Chinese saying : "Woman who boils tea & peas in same pot - UNCLEAN"!!
27th July 2013

hiya mum
hey mum, its Saturday afternoon here!! yikes we signed for the studio yest!! was sooooooo excited!! cant wait for you to see it and tell u all about it properly!! awww what a shame about the sunset!! devo'd it was cloudy! - brucy bonus on the McD's breakie tho!! every cloud n all that!!! be careful on the hot pot dish!! escpially if Sally has warned u about the chilli's - ur head will be on fire - u know what ur like with hot stuff!! u nearly chocked at mine on the pepper!!!!!!! xxxx it sounds like ur having such an amazing time :) and the massage sounded amazing!! not so sure about the cupping tho .......... lots of pain and a load of bruises - with no benefits!! sounds a bit of a con! the pics looks amazing too - we went to see G&G on fri - they were sooooo pleased to see the pics! and they send there love! grandma's too hot in this weather!! she was sayin shes been getting up at 5am doin the house work and relaxing in the afternoon when it hot!! we was talkin about clothes n she said - she doesn't wanna look like chicken dress as lamb!!!!!!!!!!! hahhahah we worked out she meant mutton!! there both really good tho!! me and beth goin again this week!! right gotta go bens takin me out for a meal - 13 year anni - :) he's really excelled himself this year, a card, flowers and a meal!! its been really nice!! right love ya n leave ya - cant wait to hear about the hot pot dish!!! love u loads xxxxxx
29th July 2013

wheres my reply!!
hiya mum, ive seen u have seen my post - wheres my reply xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
29th July 2013

Hi Ella
Hi Ella, I love getting your comments, you always make me laugh! It is such a big job keeping the blog going.... You have no idea! So it's hard to reply as well! But just be sure, I really appreciate seeing that I have a new comment to read, especially as Facebook is really difficult to get! We may be offline for a while, not sure, because tomorrow, or ,ay e the next day, we go rural xxxxx Ps happy anniversary, and it's great news about the studio! Xxx send my love to Mum and Dad
30th July 2013
image

hey,
hiya mum, aww no worry about getting time to reply then! ill let ya off! awww weve had really good news about the ami yoga fund & more progress with the studio! im so busy! its warners tonight too - so I sorted my lesson plan out last night :) have u been getting chance to do any yoga?? xx or ya too busy?? xx u'll probs just be finishing a 15 hour train journey - cant wait to hear about it and see the pics xxx xxxx
30th July 2013
image

Warrior pose
Hi el, I'm sure your having a ball sorting out the yoga studio! Today I did warrior pose in front of the Terracotta Army x

Tot: 0.537s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.2419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb