Ari Restaurant, Chengdu


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
June 7th 2012
Published: June 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yungdrung SymbolYungdrung SymbolYungdrung Symbol

There are two Ari restaurants quite close together in location. The smaller restaurant is renovating and adding new art.
It rained a little overnight and this morning? It promises to be a lttle warmer today. Yesterdau evening was really cool for a June night. I am off to a Tibetan restaurant for lunch today. Ari Restaurant is right across from the Jinli tourist area and of course my favourite Chengdu Starbucks. They have the typical Tibetan fare with some added dishes that are really Delicious. The bread is a must have for every meal. The establishment is clean and there are always tables filled with Tibetans or Chinese. Occaisionally a Western tourist will venture in. Chengdu has many Tibetan restaurants but most cater to the local Tibetans or visitoes to the city from distant Tibetan areas. Not all of them are appropriate for Western tourists unless you like the smell of old butter - OLD butter. Ari is one of my favourite places to eat. The staff are always cheerful and smiling, if not laughing at something said or done. They do not stare and are not rough when delivering or clearing food.

Last night I had the best meal of the trip so far. It was a quality establishment serving Sichuan cuisine. I had been there once before in November of last year. The food is over the top delicious. If you asked me how to get there or where it is I couldn't tell you. Even a name or address in English I couldn't find as I left after the meal. I will try and find the name and a map showing where the palce is. I am sure Chengdu is filled with a thousand restaurants like that but I don't know all of them. This restaurant stands above. The service is also good.

I got absolutely no work done yesterday. It was entirely social. I did see some new and curious art and had some interesting conversations. Today is definitely a day to write, write and write again. I have a speech I have to present on Tuesday which requires a hard copy several days in advance so that it can be translated for the event. Then there are all of the course lecture notes for students that have to be prepared in English, Tibetan and Chinese. A lot of work, plus I will be away for the weekend.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb