Sweat, Snow, Sleeping in a Monastery, and Lord of the Rings References


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
March 18th 2012
Published: March 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Beginning of the tripBeginning of the tripBeginning of the trip

Boarding the boat
This weekend was one of the best times I have had in China thus far. I am halfway done with this study abroad journey, and what better way to mark the halfway point then to climb a mountain. The hike to the top of Mount Emei was the hardest hikes of my life.

Highlights of the trip included but were not limited to: stories, seeing blue sky, smelling fresh air, hiking under the stars and a crisp sliver of a moon, the majestic views, and sleeping overnight in a monastery.

Negatives of the trip included: falling and slipping through the snow in the dark, climbing thousands and thousands of stairs, being afraid of monkeys, the extreme heat, and missing the sunrise.

All in all it has been one of my favorite trips ever.



As for China in general; currently I am waiting for the civil unrest west of me (near Tibet) to die down so I can travel to Sichuan. I am very very very excited to see my mom in one week! And I have been enjoying good food, good people, and good emails from my siblings 😊 Friendships are really blossoming here in Chengdu, and I have a feeling that there will be some road trips to visit USAC friends in the future.


Additional photos below
Photos: 162, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

PeoplePeople
People

Our Shanghai counterparts joined us for this trip
NazarNazar
Nazar

From Maryland


18th March 2012

WOW
What a trip! You took splendid pictures. My heart is still racing after seeing the snow and cliffs. Glad you made it safe and sound. Loved that you fell asleep at 9:30:) Counting the days until I see you, Scoot!
18th March 2012

How can you even handle all this amazing stuff!?! Looking at all these pictures makes me want to travel so bad! Haha keep living it up!
22nd March 2012

It is wonderful to see your pictures and read your captions and hear how much you are enjoying this trip! I am looking forward to seeing pics of you and your mom!!
23rd March 2012

How cool is that?
What an adventure. Dave wants to know how the hike could possibly be harder than hiking up the escarpment at the Bruce. There are stairs there, too, ya know. HA. I've been to the Great Wall and I know you haven't seen stairs until you've been to China. You have a great time with your Mom! Love, Teri (and Dave)

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb