Glowing Lights


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
January 27th 2012
Published: January 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am struck by the beauty of a new place, yet also by how much I miss home.

This week I found a few American restaurants to quench my craving for chocolate, and have treasured speaking/emailing (especially communicating in English and understanding 100% of what is being said to me) with those back home.

I have explored this tiny piece of China and am excited to explore even more in the coming months. The pictures I posted are of a park, enchanted by glowing lights.



One of the reasons I was so excited to travel abroad was to experience change. It takes a lot of courage to board a plane, destined for unknown lands. It takes a lot of courage (or stupidity) to leave behind a perfectly agreeable life and venture into a place without knowing a single person. I recall thinking, 'what if everyone in my program is just plain weird?' Then I reminded myself that I should be thinking: 'What if everyone in my program realizes I am just plain weird.' But seriously, I was excited to change when I went to China and come back a new and improved version of myself. But now that I am here I realize that it is not change that I am going to experience; it is more like solidifying myself.

In a country full of voices I do not understand (unless they are counting from one to ten or saying 'foreigner', 'hello', or 'I'm sorry, my Chinese is not good'😉 there is a certain amount of quiet in one's own mind. In a place where you look, act, talk, and think differently than everyone else; where your habits are very unlike those around you; and where what is polite is totally different from what you are used to- there is a lot of confusion. And in the face of confusion I think it is only natural to curl into a fetal position emotionally and be completely yourself because who you are is going to be different from those around you no matter what. I think the change I will undergo here is to be able to put up a front even less than I could before. So perhaps instead of changing and being better, I will have less of a social filter. Thats great right? When I begin stealing your fries off your plate with chopsticks after a few months of being home... I doubt you will be happy at me revealing my true (and rather malicious in the face of food) self.


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Old fashioned scroll Old fashioned scroll
Old fashioned scroll

The characters were carved in with a knife.


27th January 2012

I continue to look forward to reading your blog and take in the beautiful sites via your lens. I am so thankful that your trip so far sounds positive and you already have at least one friend there! Know that we love you and pray for you.
27th January 2012

SO DEEP!
Taryn you is deep bro. It is a good deep though, even though it sounds like I am mocking you. I liked this post. And I liked the pictures of the pandas previously posted.
28th January 2012

yo
yo ilove you soooo much i sent you a email.
31st January 2012

oxoxoxoxoxoxox
i love you i loved what you wrote. at home we are missing you too a lot. i wish you were here. i am amazed at the glowing lights. i like those paintings too. sadly i will never be that good at painting.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb