Visiting Wuhouci Temple...is like re-living my "Dynasty Warriors" days.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
February 2nd 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Traditional instrument demonstration. 14 secs
Wuhouci Temple.Wuhouci Temple.Wuhouci Temple.

These two girls wanted desperately to hang out with me. I guess it's cool to have American friends? Anyway, they were so cute. Haha.
And if you've ever played the game, you'd know what I'm talking about.

"Wuhou might be translated as 'Minister of War', and was the title given to Zhuge Liang, a famous military strategist of the Shu Kingdom (in which Chengdu was the capital) during the Three Kingdoms Period (220-80 AD) immortalised in one of the classics of Chinese literature, The Tale of the Three Kingdoms. Curiously, Zhuge Liang is not the main attraction of the temple. The front shrine instead is dedicated to Liu Bei, Zhuge Liang's emperor. Liu's temple, the Hanzhaolie Temple, was moved here and rebuilt during the Ming Dynasty, but the Wuhou Temple name stuck all the same."

I really shouldn't have to go any further!

But before I left, I actually thought Wuhouci Temple was going to be a Buddhist temple. So, you can probably imagine I was pretty shocked when I saw all these..."Dynasty Warriors" 'characters', after mentally preparing myself for immersion in Mahayana Buddhist culture. I know, I know, they were actually real historical figures. But, it's so hard to imagine that when you've spent your whole childhood thinking these people were created for a video game. Haha.

Of course, I
Wuhouci Temple.Wuhouci Temple.Wuhouci Temple.

I'm pretty sure I'm with Liu Bei here. I hope so, anyway.
took pictures of Liu Bei's statue (since he was the leader of the Shu Kingdom), but (sadly?) I only took pictures of others who I liked in the video game as a child. (Wow...really??) But the thing is, I don't know that much about Shu's history! So what else could I do??

I then visited Jinli Street again. Because, I had no idea the two places were adjacent to eachother! In fact, they're pretty much one in the same tourist spot. I looked around, ate street food, made friends with more locals...and the nice thing about tonight was, Jinli Street was heavily decorated for the new year. It was so pretty!


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Wuhouci Temple.Wuhouci Temple.
Wuhouci Temple.

Pretty lanterns.
Jilin Street.Jilin Street.
Jilin Street.

One of my favorite pictures.
Jilin Street.Jilin Street.
Jilin Street.

Dico's! The only place I can find coffee with no milk and sugar in China. :-(
Jilin Street.Jilin Street.
Jilin Street.

New year decorations.
Wuhouci Temple.Wuhouci Temple.
Wuhouci Temple.

Liu Bei's info.
Wuhouci Temple.Wuhouci Temple.
Wuhouci Temple.

Me with Liu Bei.
Wuhouci Temple.Wuhouci Temple.
Wuhouci Temple.

Guan Yu's info.
Wuhouci Temple.Wuhouci Temple.
Wuhouci Temple.

Zhang Yi. I only took a picture of him because, if you can see it, his eyes look really scary.
Wuhouci Temple.Wuhouci Temple.
Wuhouci Temple.

Zhang Yi's info.
Jilin Street.Jilin Street.
Jilin Street.

Talk about Chinglish! ""Living hell" does not go with the other more...inspiring words listed here...


8th February 2011

YO
hey all these pics are cool. i wish i was there with you to see all of it. hope you having a good time. we miss you
1st December 2012

It's ok!
You can come up and see me this time! I'll have a lot of fun things for us to do.

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb