A Change In Plans...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
September 10th 2012
Published: September 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am sad to report that I will officially no longer be studying abroad in Africa next semester. Unfortunately, the program was changed very recently to something that no longer aligns with my study abroad goals. I was very upset because I've always wanted to go to Africa, and the chance to learn more about the South African culture along with playing rugby seemed like an amazing experience. Plus, the opportunity to hold little baby Simbas was always a plus. I would also have had the chance to meet up with my three South African friends I met in New York when I was a junior in high school.

However, plans constantly change, and life must go on. So, I officially withdrew my South Africa application, and literally just submitted my intent to apply for University of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia (Hope this is OK Mom and Dad). Unlike London and Shanghai, Sydney is a true exchange program, meaning I will have no help once I get there. However, this also means that I will be living with the Aussies instead of other Americans, which will be a good change. I am thinking about moving to Australia after college, so I think this will be a good way to see if I will like it. I opted for UNSW instead of the University of Sydney because I wanted the chance to meet more Australians, but also because this will give me the chance to play rugby and join the school's wakeboarding team. Plus, it's a little outside Sydney, and much closer to the beach. I have been emailing Babson students like crazy over the weekend (which was quite difficult from the top of a mountain) and I haven't heard anything bad about this program, only fantastic stories. Hopefully that's what is in store for me!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb