Back in the P.R.C!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 15th 2010
Published: March 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, after three weeks of bumming around in the states, I had a plan to visit my Chinese friend Caroline and her family for Spring Festival. I missed my first of many flights on my way out of the states. I get to stay in the states one more day to bum it. Then, the next day I proceed on my 18 hour journey back to the other side of the world. The flight from Chicago to Shanghai was approximately 14 hours and 34 minutes long, and I know because I was awake at the window seat the entire time. The flight was full of Chinese Americans on their way to Spring Festival (Chinese New Year). I was really prejiducely in awe as I remarked how good their English was, as its a rarity that I meet any Chinese people in China who speak comprehensible English. I sat next to this Chinese business man from Shanghai who gave me some pretty good pointers on job tips, and places to visit within China.
I arrived in Shanghai an eternity later, and completely sleep deprived, since for some reason I cannot sleep on airplanes. I felt the welcome too because while at baggae claim, I hear a huge burp directly behind me and feel some nasty hot breath on my neck. Yep. Then moments later I heard a huge loogie being dragged up and spit out by some other dude.
I've mentioned before that Shanghai PuDong is probably the largest airport I have ever seen. Its just ridiculously massive. I find my bag and in typical fashion, the handle to drag my bag has been shattered! So, with a 6 hour layover I decide to head to terminal and take a much needed nap. The only thing about flying any Chinese domestic flight is that they only let you check your bag an hour before departure. So I take a nap in front of Check-in and wake up 8 hours later! to discover I had missed my flight. Chinese new year was the next day and the busiest travel day of the season and as my luck had it, I would have to spend 2 nights in Shanghai. It was looking as though I wasn't going to make that trip to see Caroline for Spring Festival.
Shanghai is pretty remarkable and is more high tech and cosmopolitan than any city I've ever visited. There are loads of different people there but once you get 20 minutes out of city limits you recongnize any-town PRC. I didn't really like the feel of Shanghai, it seemed too busy and too not-like China but if you have cash burning in your wallet, its the place to go.
After my unintended detours, I arrived in Nanchang conviently a day and a half before I need to unpack and repack for my trip to Thailand. The weather was typically Nanchang with the rain, cold and chilly winds. And what do you know..I get back to my appartment and there is no electricity...
Cheers to hoping Thailand will bring much need warmth and luxury.

Advertisement



17th March 2010

Hi Girl I just read your blog, how interesting the culture shock. Miss u loads already...... Take care of yourself

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb