last blog of 2009 from Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
December 12th 2009
Published: December 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am packing frantically but the record would not be complete if I didn't share the following bits from our December in Shanghai.

Nathan took his first Kung Fu test about a week ago and passed it...the whole thing was quite intense. They made the kids do a lot of work and demonstrate their skills in front of an audience of parents and a panel of Kung Fu Masters. Nathan had a serious look on his face the entire time but smiled when he got the pass sign from the Master. Phew. I was inspired to take some classes of my own after seeing him in action. Next year. Emily chose not to do the test. She finished the classes with Nathan (because I made her finish) but she didn't want to do the test. That's fair.

Had a great time helping to organize a proper tea party for the Girl Scouts at our school.We held it at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai last weekend. Emily and I dressed up and went to tea. Mark was super helpful (the only father there) and took the pictures for all the mother daughter pairs. It was a great event and the moms and daughters had tons of fun. Emily and I took the subway in our fancy dresses and shiny black shoes. She ate a hot dog with catsup while standing up on a crowded train...she needed a bite before the tea party at 2pm.

We funded our event by holding a silent auction. Restaurants, stores and small business owners donated items and we more than covered our expenses. I bought nothing. Emily asked for nothing. I procured many of the auction items and made some great connections with some small business owners.

Before our tea party, the kids and I went shopping for a charity called The Giving Tree. It provides gift bags to children of poor families. This year I believe our bags were going to kids in Shanghai. We went to a children's market and bought puffy winter coats for 2 girls. The store owner was really nice and when I explained we were buying these for kids in need, she gave us a great price.

I had some articles published in the expat magazine--another check on my list of gaining more writing experience. Hopefully, there will be more of that in 2010.

Emily's holiday concert was this week. It was raining and horrible out, so I splurged and called a car service. We have stood in the rain for almost 2 years while the rest of the families jump in their vans...this time we had a car waiting for us after the concert. I was like a kid during prom who sticks her head out the limo roof. Look at me! I have a driver too! For one night anyway.

Mark took the kids to the grand opening of Krispy Kreme donuts in Shanghai. Emily, Nathan and their pal Alexis charmed the sales epeople and managed to walk away with a few boxes of free donuts. The next day, she wore her Krispy Kreme hat and took in a box of donuts to school. She went to her favorite teachers and delivered the donuts. Such a Slaven.

Meanwhile I have been shopping all week. Getting gifts all over town. I went shopping with my Finnish friend and neighbor and hit the markets in an effort to get Chinese pjs for many a child in Santa Barbara...Later in the week, while the kids were doing their donut deal, I was at another market and ran into the Harlem Globetrotters at a DVD store. Such nice and such tall men. We took a picture (another reminder to always carry the camera!). One of them was sure he knew me...which made me giggle.

Yesterday was crazy. I went to school for Emily's holiday party. We had a feast of wonderful international foods. Swedish pancakes with jam, pita with meatballs and yummy sauce, pb&j sandwiches (my contribution), and lots of sweet treats. I took a coffee break for about 30 minutes at the school cafe and then I went to Nathan's class to participate in an activity. I shared a book I had read and Nathan and a classmate asked me questions. Of course, I had to study up because I chose a book I read a few months ago. It was hard to find one that had appropriate content. No sex, no drugs, no murder. I chose Factory Girls--thanks to my dad's reminder--and it was a great choice. The vice principal came to listen and I guess I got an A because Nathan told me I was mentioned at the assembly later that day. After Nathan's class, I had to race by taxi to return a defective gift and then get back to school to lead the Brownies meeting. We went ice skating at a mall about 20 minutes from school. We took buses, and the parents met us there to collect their daughters when the event was over. The girls did great, we only had 1 injury, and we even had cocoa and mini marshmallows.

Now I am running around doing last minute shopping and final packing. I thought we were limited to 1 bag each but re-read the rules and we can bring 2 each. Yay. I ordered my groceries from Peapod--to be delivered Sunday morning. I mailed my holiday cards from Shanghai at midnight last night. I have new kid dvds, a new battery for Nathan's Mac, the splitter for headphones, and charged batteries for Kindle and computers. We have snacks for the flights, new plane pillows I bought on impulse during my shopping spree, and new sparkly pens for Emily to use on the plane.

I should be ready by the time the car comes at 3pm.








Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



12th December 2009

Wow
Lots of last minute stuff going on there. Good thinking on the PPOD order. Look forward to seeing you guys.
13th December 2009

wow indeed
You're making this look easy, Suzanne. Tea parties, school presentations, magazine articles, shopping, packing...plus time to pose with the Harlem Globetrooters...nice.

Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb