Shanghai's Oriental Pearl TV Tower


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
December 26th 2008
Published: December 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oriental Pearl TV Tower

I was really blessed the day I went to the Oriental Pearl TV Tower. The weather was beautiful and sunny, and the sky was blue with a few white puffy clouds. It gave me fantastic views of Shanghai. Living in China, I often see the tower on advertising and on TV. I never really gave it a thought. When I planned my itinerary, I added it to my itinerary because it is a common stop for our customers, so I wanted to experience it for myself. I was actually quite impressed by it. It is a very cool looking structure, especially from up close. It has three different observation areas located in its three larger spheres, or pearls. I visited the middle one. We bought out tickets out front, and went into the large pavilion located at the base of the tower and got in line. The line was short and moved very quickly. We lined up to take one of the elevators up to the observation areas. They run up the legs of the tower and they go quick. The middle sphere is three floors. It has a revolving restaurant on the top floor, and two lower observation floors. The middle floor is where most visitors go. Few go to the lower floor because it has no glass in its windows, and so is open to the elements. The views from the tower are incredible. It is amazing how much construction is going on. Since the tower is across the Huangpu River from The Bund, it offers fantastic views of that as well. It was a lot of fun and I spent a lot of time with my guide there.

Ticket Price:
Space Module 100rmb
Upper Sphere 70rmb
Lower Sphere 50rmb
Restaurant Prices 200rmb from 11:00-2:00, 280rmb 5:00-9:00
Time Needed:
It depends on the number of spheres visited. The Basic tour to the middle sphere requires about 1 to 1.5 hours.
Hours of Operation:
Daily 8:30-9:30
Location:
The Oriental Pearl Tower is located at the tip of Lujiazui in the Pudong district along the Huangpu River, opposite Shanghai's Bund.

In September 2008 I was sent on an inspection tour with China Odyssey Tours www.chinaodysseytours.com. I am the Marketing Manager of China Odyssey Tours. No one is told that I work for the company, and since I am a foreigner I can experience a tour the way our customers do. That way I get the real experience without any VIP treatment. I check on the sites, hotels, restaurants, and guides to ensure that they all meet our rigid quality guidelines.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Oriental Pearl TV TowerOriental Pearl TV Tower
Oriental Pearl TV Tower

A view of the Jinmao Tower and Shanghai Global Financial Center from the Oriental Pearl TV Tower
Oriental Pearl TV TowerOriental Pearl TV Tower
Oriental Pearl TV Tower

A view from the Oriental Pearl TV Tower
Oriental Pearl TV TowerOriental Pearl TV Tower
Oriental Pearl TV Tower

A view from the Oriental Pearl TV Tower


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb