Omar, Philip Kotler and my mother


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
September 18th 2005
Published: September 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It has been a while since I posted something about our life in Shanghai. I have to say that I am enjoying our stay in this city. There is something interesting every single day (not always nice but always interesting/funny) although I have to say that sometimes I still miss going to the supermarket and recognizing every single product or just knowing that I will not need to squat every time I feel like going to the restroom in a shopping mall.

Omar is doing good but working loooong hours. Last week he was invited to participate in a panel with Philip Kotler, hailed as "the world's foremost expert on the strategic practice of marketing" by most Marketing professionals and by anyone that has read maybe the most authoritative textbook on marketing: Marketing Management, now in it's 12th edition. So it was a big thing. He did great and what was most surprising is that the following day, Omar was on the first page of the newspaper!! (the Chinese Wall Street Journal). The problem is that we have not been able to translate what the article says...We just hope is good.

On another note, my mother came to visit us! We had a great time, we visited the markets and we went to Suzhou to see the gardens and to Zhouzhuang where she decided to try the tradicional costume for Kunqu (Suzhou Opera). Here the pictures.

One of the days, we decided to go into a "Chinese Traditional Pharmacy" where they sold all kinds of tea and all kinds of dried animals or parts of animals, from hippocampus and star fish to yak penis vitamins and sheep plascenta we decided we better buy tylenol and vitamin B in a regular pharmacy...

The bad thing is that while in one of our trips I experienced the worst smell I ever felt in my life. It was SO BAD I almost trew up and it gave me a headache that lasted for the rest of the afternoon. We were walking in Zhouzhuang during lunch time and it seems that all the people selling dried fish and stinky tofu decided to sell at the same time, oh my god IT WAS SO BAD, I am usually polite and try to respect other people's habits but this time I just could not take it and started running for 3 blocks.

In 2 weeks we are going to Tibet for 10 days, I am so excited! Will post pictures as soon as we get back.







Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Our Exclusive Gourmet LunchOur Exclusive Gourmet Lunch
Our Exclusive Gourmet Lunch

Note the upscale table cloth and traditional way to dispose the bones... Very chic...


24th September 2005

Kotler Rodriguez ???
Gigante... casi un Forrestr Gump... en el proximo update tendremos Omar y George Bush, Omar y Donald Duck, Omar y Los Increibiles, Omar y Buda, Omar y Pele... ??? No, please. Saludos de los que no duermen... Ricardo Y Paola
25th September 2005

Tu mama! Preciosa!!!
Hola Gigi y Omar; de veras - una vida de aventuras. que bueno que nos pueden hacer parte de ella a traves del travel blog. Congratulations to Omar y tambien - tu mama se ve lindissima!!! Un beso de la contessa
27th September 2005

I was missing you....
Gigi!!! It was so nice to hear from you again, I always look foward getting your updated in the far east somehow I live through your comments what you are living there I love your e-mail.Please keep on sending them. I really would like to know how it was Tibet. I forwarded this to people that wants to know about you and are asking for you, I hope you don't mind. Regards. Eloisa.

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb