Escalator friend


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So as mentioned in my previous blog, I said I was going to meet people this week. So today, I attempted to go to Xintiandi to explore and meet other expats at Coffee Bean. I was there around the meeting time and didn't see any formal gatherings of people. Instead, I read the expat magazines and drank iced tea. It was pleasant. An ice blended is still $4USD. Too expensive. I am still jet lagged and not hungry during the day. Plus, the humidity and heat makes me lose my appetite.

Shanghai, like most metropolitan cities consists of: restaurants, office buildings, and shopping malls/stores. That's it! I'm not so into shopping these days b/c I don't have space in my suitcases. Shanghai is flat, there are no mountains, lakes, etc. The ocean and rivers in Shanghai aren't too scenic. I'm looking forward to go to Guilin, Huangshan, Chengdu, etc.

I went shopping at some department stores today. Now I know why Shanghainese women wear skirts - because it's so freaking hot! So I went to look at some skirts and dresses at the stores.... I saw some pretty nice/cute skirts but they are all a tad short for me. I'm too tall and too fat. 😞 The saleswomen are so pushy too.... one girl was practically cornering me into the dressing stall with the skirt she picked out for me. Then after you try it on they give you all sorts of ridiculous compliments and conclude with, "So you're going to buy it?" Pushy! Then if you decline, they give you dirty looks. Sheesh! I've been reading about custom made clothing... i think I'm going to check that out instead. 😊 I'd love to get some great blouses made for work.

After Xintiandi, on my way home, I went to Hengshan Community Church, an international church. It was quite an interesting experience. I'm not sure I'll go back, but it was a very diverse gathering of people (must be non-Chinese/show passport). I insisted that I introduce myself to a few people there. I chickened out though and just went straight to the metro station. On my way back I noticed that I followed the same guy from the church to the metro station, took the same line, got off at the same stop and walked up the same metro exit too.... so I forced myself to introduce myself to him on the way up the escalator. Yes, I appeared to be hitting on some guy on an escalator. Sigh. Anyway, I chatted with him (J) and he is Chinese Indonesian and also studied at Jiao Da last year. It was good to find another person to connect with. He asked if I wanted to go to potluck at his classmate's house with him and his roommates. I hesitated, and then got convinced into tagging along. It was really kind of him to invite me and help me connect with people. I think he had pity on me.

So I meet all kinds of people at the potluck. J, his roommates and friends were all friendly, polite, and just plain nice. Surprisingly, almost none of his friends were Chinese! They were from Netherlands, Columbia, Brazil, NYC, England, etc. I was pleased to find out how interested people are in learning Mandarin and Chinese culture. these people had a curiousity to learn so came here and started studying Chinese! Wow, now that's brave! These people speak excellent Chinese and have traveled all around China! Granted, they've been here for 2+ years, but still! They learned from scratch too! Anyway, talking to them made me realize more how easy it is to just get caught up here and not want to leave. Most of these foreigners said they plan to stay in China for at least a few more years. I met a person named A and he was encouraging me to pursue volunteering in China. A has done all kinds of volunteering projects around China during the past 5 years. I will try to go to one volunteering event through Hands On (http://www.handsonshanghai.com) this week.

I developed the "Shanghai newbie cough". It's the pollution, I think. Everyone says they get it for an entire month after the first get here. It's a short cough, mostly in the throat and upper chest. Hope it goes away soon.

I'm signing my lease tomorrow! And going to try to gather some more moola. I hope everything goes smoothly.





Advertisement



24th June 2007

volunteering
that's great that you'll go to volunteer. just what you like to do! :)
24th June 2007

Hitting on guys on the escalator, then getting yourself invited to dinner! Impressive! hahaha. Just kidding, I'm so proud of you, taking risks and meeting new people.
25th June 2007

nice!
well done. very proud of you!!!! (especially getting the courage to talk in the elevator!).

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb