China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Yangpu
March 15th 2012
Published: March 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

As a kid I used to dig holes in the back yard. I think it was just for fun but I remember when people asked what I was doing; I unequivocally responded that I was digging a hole to China. After recruiting the effort our miniature schnauzer I was able to dig a hole deep enough to hide my 4 foot self but Binky and I could never break through to the other side of the globe.

I now find myself 20+ years later on an alternate path to the Far East. Traveling above the Arctic Circle I have landed in Shanghai and now resting in my seemingly European styled hotel. After scanning the TV channels I found it odd that the first English speaking program was a music video marathon celebrating the artist currently known as Pink. I was grateful to find an English speaking Asian news channel a few clicks over.

I have not had much time to explore, and will be primarily focused on my work (as that is the reason I'm here), but I am very fascinated with the Chinese culture, it’s seemingly sky rocketing economy and how it is quickly becoming a super power on the world's playing field. While our histories could not be more different, it seems that the West and the East are now heading in the same direction.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



16th March 2012

Just in case
Mason!!! gas mask for smoke inhalation? take care!

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb