All You Can't Eat Buffet


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Xujiahui
September 25th 2007
Published: September 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The FineThe FineThe Fine

1 yuan per BITE!
I've been spending the past few days hiding from the rain, studying, and reading. I decided to treat myself to lunch at a restaurant today called Larbre de Provence in Metro City. I always see the restaurant pretty crowded with people eating the lunch buffet. So I go for the buffet too (39 rmb per person) and I am seated. I get up to help myself. There's a bunch of cold salads and an assortment of Chinese looking dishes. I decide to take a sample of everything to decide what was good. I start eating my food and picking at the things that look and taste OK. The veggies are overcooked and mushy, or dirty tasting. So I push those off to the side. There's also a chalky tasting yellow curry. Then a waitress quickly tells me in Chinese to not waste any food because there is a fine. She shows me me a sign on the table that details (in paragraphs) about their fine policy. Umm... I could have been told this BEFORE I got my food. Ok, so my fault for wanting to waste food, but the policy is that every and every chopstick-full BITE left over is a
The Fine PrintThe Fine PrintThe Fine Print

Chinese readers: Can you translate for me? Click to englarge.
1 rmb fine, as well as a fine for any BEVERAGE left over. Sheesh! I thought this was a little over the top. It's not like I was trying to waste mounds of food - it was probably 8 bites at most. Seriously, people should be able to leave a little on their plate. It's REASONABLE. I replied that I didn't like what I selected and she told me that "sorry this is our policy."

So I was a bit unhappy after that because I didn't like the idea that someone was basically shoving their poor quality food down my throat. I was a grumpy eater. 😞

I took a picture of my clean plate. I definitely didn't get my 39 rmb worth and I felt a little ripped off. Of course, I decide that I have to tell the hostess and waiter in my broken Chinese that they need 1) inform people of their fine policy before they get their food. She repsonded that there's a sign on the table. I told her that people usually get food before reading signs on the table. 2) I said she can't assume that everyone can read Chinese. Ok, ok, this is my own fault, but I pointed that out too. 3) I said that their fine is unreasonable, given that there are things that people are allergic to, or dislike, or simply TASTE BAD.

I don't think my complaint went anywhere, nor I do feel justice was served.I was so frustrated that I couldn't raise my complaint in an eloquent way. My poor communication (Chinese) is really starting to get to me. I don't know why I have to be such a polly anna here. Perhaps my frustration today is just a reflection of my American culture and mindset. Americans waste food, and if I don't like it, I don't have to finish it...it's my right to decide what I want to eat. Remember: this is China, not U.S... finish your plate... or you get fined! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The RestaurantThe Restaurant
The Restaurant

Doesn't look that shiesty from the outside, right?
At least I don't have a problem at StarbucksAt least I don't have a problem at Starbucks
At least I don't have a problem at Starbucks

I'm playing with my sepia function.


25th September 2007

hmmm. sorry about the bad buffet. guess you never know....think of if you were illiterate in the US!!!!!
25th September 2007

OMG
that sounds hilarious.... you should've just paid the fine.
26th September 2007

waste money or waste food?
(gasp!) pay the fine!? now that would be wasting money! :)
15th October 2007

hahaha...well, i'm proud of you for trying to voice your complaints in chinese. and you did a very good job cleaning your plate.

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb