Shanghai Expo


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
May 29th 2010
Published: May 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I visited the Pudong side of the Shanghai Expo today. It was unbelievably crowded and most of the pavilions had a 2-4 hour wait, so I didn't even bother going inside. I did visit the Pacific Islands joint pavilion, the Africa joint pavilion, and the Cuba pavilion though. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves, but I will say that I walked away from the Expo after 4 hours exhausted and knowing two things - I like Cuban rum and I have got to visit Cuba.

I took photos of the outside of the pavilions. Hope you enjoy them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 86, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Entrance Entrance
Entrance

near the Yaohua metro station
Expo2010Expo2010
Expo2010

Lifesize statue
Expo Culture CenterExpo Culture Center
Expo Culture Center

Looks like a big spaceship
Inside Pacific Islands PavilionInside Pacific Islands Pavilion
Inside Pacific Islands Pavilion

I read a hilarious book about Kiribati Island, so I had to visit their exhibit. The book is The Sex Lives of Cannibals by J. Martin Troost. It is a true story of his experience when he lived there for two years. Hilarious.
Lupu Bridge Lupu Bridge
Lupu Bridge

For 80 RMB you can climb this bridge. I did it with a school group so it was free for me, but I don't think it's worth 80 RMB.
I thinkI think
I think

this is something called Happy Town OR the Netherlands Pavilion? Not sure.
UK PavilionUK Pavilion
UK Pavilion

This is just the top. For some reason, they built a ridiculous wall around theirs and you can't see the entire building unless you wait in line for hours!
Italy PavilionItaly Pavilion
Italy Pavilion

It is much, much larger than the picture shows. I really wanted to see this one, but the line was huge and people were practically camped out.


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0974s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb