Shanghai exploring - Day 2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Jing'an
December 8th 2013
Published: December 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Shanghai Zoo




So after a great day exploring People’s Park and The Bund the previous day and a lovely dinner with Phillip and Mae they were both up for another day of exploring and asked what I had planned next on my list.

Since the weather is quite nice at the moment (well for me, bless them Phillip and Mae are not used to this weather) it just had to be Shanghai Zoo. A few stops on 2 metro lines away from the hotel.

Anyone who knows me know that I love any excuse to go into teacher mode and this is basically what happened today as Phillip and Mae had never seen let alone heard of 90%!o(MISSING)f the animals that were present, so all my useless knowledge about Racoons being vermin in the US among other crazy things came into full flow today.

I love converting things into English money as the entry fee converted into only £4 (40RMB). It being winter here the park was a beautiful amber and green colour all around. I might as well get the ranting out of the way but straight away I noticed that the other visitors (Locals) had no respect at all for the signs dotted around the various enclosures including:


• Do not feed the animals
• Please do not touch
• Do not bang on the glass


Anyway there was a whole variety of animals to see and experience. The zoo overall was spacious with massive amounts of open spaces which would probably look amazing and colourful in the summer but a little bit on the stark side although still beautiful with all the amber leaves that will still hanging around.

There were however many sections that seemed somewhat neglected, although we weren't ever sure if we were supposed to be in those sections are the paths between zones were twisty turny and there were many side paths that led to places not signed posted. In wondering down one of these sections we came across porcupines and 'racoons with dog legs'. There were 3 lovely snow foxes in a small enclosure (shhh don't tell anyone but one had its paw hanging out the side and i touched it - Hey least I wasn't feeding it bread like some people were after) but one of the foxes had these horrible infected eyes which
Sticky FlamingoSticky FlamingoSticky Flamingo

A family joke
looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks. Yes I know they are wild animals but still it couldn't have been nice for the animal.

Again yes I know its winter here and the leaves are falling but some parts looked so bland and unviting. Zoo's back home are full of colour with sign posts and paintings. However they must be taking note of some things as the Lions viewing enclosure was being rebuilt with massive scaffolding and fake rocks being done (Not sure where they were put though as Phillip got upset he never got to meet Alex on his Madgascar hit list). There was a whole section being refitted but I can't remember what animals were relocated from there. New signs were literaly being cut and stuck in the Stork/Crane section that were funky and informative. OOOO I haven't even got started on the rickity old ferris wheel that I was dragged onto. I nearly died when Phillip moved half way round and the whole thing shock. It creaked the whole way round and I think in the UK it would have failed a million health and safety laws. But still it was a great way to
Red PandaRed PandaRed Panda

Just for my sister
see the park from above, such amazing colours, and a good view of some of Shanghai too, and one of the airports.

We eventually found Malman and Marty but missed the Hippo show so couldn't really see Gloria in her tank. We found King Julian too, who as per the norm was being fed human food even though there was a picture form of a sign basically saying Don't give me human food it makes me sick

Overall it was a great day. I managed to work out some chinese symbols on the metro when we had a split line that basically translated into the next train is going to BLAH BLAH BLAH the second train is going to BLAH BLAH BLAH YAY for me! - I think some chinese bloke laughed at me when I congratulated myself like it was something anyone should know. O well.

On a side note, I also enjoyed watching the hundreds of cats (pet cats not Big cats) at the zoo raiding bins and running off into the hedge rows.

So after a great weekend of exploring I now have a week of training to look forward to before finding out my schedule after that. I'm dreading tuesday though as its VISA medical test day and I've just found out that they take a blood sample :-( (queue the dramatic music) lets just hope I don't punch this nurse and still manage to get my VISA. Keep your fingers crossed everyone please.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb