Je t'adore le tomatas.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong
January 7th 2006
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am trying to remember the events of this last week but time has just kind of.. melded... and the definition from day to day isn't really there.

Drank myself drunk on New Years and fell asleep behind a locked bedroom door... woke up at 11:30 and put myself and my spinning head into a taxi. Got to Pyramid just in time to see the New Year in and get soaked in champagne (not to mention a New Years kiss or two!).

The wine hangover is one that I'd forgotten and I was kindly reminded of the morning after. Danny, Sophia, Jon and I nursed our hangovers with some greasy McDonalds and lay sprawled out on the couch, the floor and the armchair, watching Jackass the movie until close to 2.

All in all, it was a great New Years.

Had THE worst class of my 6 months at Oma on Tuesday morning. I don't want to relive that.

Sophia and I went shopping one afternoon in the SNOW... to a market that apparently doesn't exist when it's that cold out. But we found some good things anyways. Jon took us out for dinner and he ate Donkey Dumplings (ass dumplings!) and I ate my Rabbit Love (carrot) dumplings. Fun night. Lots of jokes from that one.

A couple of my former students from the SAC; Jason, Yoyo and Snow, came over one night to make dinner... and I helped to make homemade dumplings. Turned out to be more of a dumpling cake when all was said and done but good none the less.

Jon bought me a "Happy Love" cake as my going away gift. And the cake promply "went away". Into........ our......... bellies!"

But the reason I am writing now is that I am in this perfect, euphoric state.. mind, body, soul. Last night was my going away party... so Sophia, Danny, Yue, Kerry, Jon and I went to KTV for close to 4 hours. "1, 2, 3, GO!" We went to take group sticky pics (last time!) which were just great, then Kerry left and we went to Pizza Hut for dinner. I don't know what it is about guys who see Jackass for the first time and decide that they too have to try a bunch crazy stuff... but Danny's coke/cheese/pepper/tobasco/pizza crust concoction was enough to make your stomach turn just by looking at it. After dinner. Danny, Sophia, Yue, Jon and I piled into one cab (Sophia sprawled across the laps of Yue, Danny and Jon, feet against the window) to Pyramid. Danny had to leave early but the rest of us, we danced. And we danced. We danced until 5 o'clock. Got home at 5:30, and from there, things are a little hazy.

Three days left. Then I'm off to finally satisfy this wander-lust of mine. One week in Hainan for some relaxing on the beach, some pineapple rice and some diving. 9 days in Yunnan to visit Kunming and the Stone Forest, old town Dali and Lijiang and (fingers crossed) Tiger Leaping Gorge. Then Beijing for three days, long enough to see the Great Wall and Forbidden City (weather permitting) and hooooome.

I'll try to post while I'm travelling, but I'm not sure what the connections will be like.

See you all in three weeks.

Love Laura



My best friends, characterized by one quote:

Sophia: "F you guys off!"
Danny: "Oh, really?"
Yue: "My God."



Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb