Meeting Australian Friends in Qingdao


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Qingdao
March 20th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

With Portia&MaryWith Portia&MaryWith Portia&Mary

Catholic Church Qingdao
Though it just like dreaming,my friend who hasn’t seen for many show up again!Ha ha.Though Portia just spent 2days in Qingdao,we had a lot of wonderful time!I felt uncertain and unconfident when I roaming in Qingdao 3years ago,because I am a totally stranger to this city,but now my Australian friends who I met in Dali is walking with me.I think they won’t feel uncertain like I did three years ago.

This Catholic church is called St.Michael’s Cathedral,which was desinghed by a German architect Pipieruch in a Gothic and Roman style.This building is occupying a land area of 1,900sg.m.The design of the church forms a cross.Between the two symmetrical towers and in the 30 meters high,a terrace was built.There are four big bronze bells in the towers,whose voices are melodious and conxrete.the top of the church is covered with red tongue-like tiles.
The inside of the church looks wide and bright.Seven lamps are suspended from the ceiling.The altar is pur at the end of the Church.On the wll begand the altar,a dome fresco was painted, and it highlights the church more solemn and beautiful.
During the Cultural Revolution,this church was seriously damaged. After several years of repair, it was re-opened on
I like itI like itI like it

I like this graffiti more than this woman.
April,1981.
Shan Dong Government listed the beautiful church as a Provincial Historic Building.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

WeedingWeeding
Weeding

We are blessing for the bride.
Qingdao beer MuseumQingdao beer Museum
Qingdao beer Museum

No.56 Dengzhou Road


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb