Biggest snow storm of the Year & Season


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Dongying
February 28th 2011
Published: February 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The winds howled all night, and I thought some sort of natural disaster was hitting us. I woke up to just under a foot of snow outside, nothing like the East Coast and Mid-West has suffered this Winter, but when things are already a bit tough with no snow, it just made things very hard to get around yesterday. With that said, it was a great day for me to bring my camera into work and take some snaps of how it all went down.
With Shandong province suffering its worst drought in 60 years, the snow was a relief to many farmers and people in the area. Temperatures dropped into the teens, which was influenced by heavy winds. After all, we sit on flat land and there really is no close mountain range between us and the ocean.
After classes yesterday, we had going-away dinner for a two teachers at a nice place. Afterward, we walked to Neil's house in the snow and ice, so some of us could buy some things for our places off him because he was moving. I bought a microwave off him, and got some other kitchen items as well. We were passing around some
My hoodMy hoodMy hood

Right outside my building complex
aged whiskey he had and playing categories before it set in that I needed to take the pretty big microwave home with me. So after carrying it down five flights of stairs, I walked a couple hundred yards to the street and sat on the side of the pretty quiet stretch of road trying to signal a taxi. As they all headed out to the bar, I sat on my microwave on the icy curb waiting to see a red light in the front of a car window, which is a vacant taxi. After five big oil trucks came barreling down the road at 11:40 pm (all in a row-there has to be reason why they are traveling so late at night-don't forget Dongying second biggest oil producer in China) , I hired a taxi home and was so thankful to get out of the cold and wet. I gave him twice what the meter read, I was so lucky and happy to be home with microwave, and warm.
Anyway, leaving for public school now then off to the coast city of Qingdao for my two days off with four friends/teachers. I cannot wait to smell the salty air coming off the ocean, and of course, have some western food.
I'm sure the trip will give birth to a great blog and more scenic pictures, stay tuned!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Meet me at Caozhou & Yihue LuMeet me at Caozhou & Yihue Lu
Meet me at Caozhou & Yihue Lu

Cross-intersection that I call home
Cyclist still pushingCyclist still pushing
Cyclist still pushing

Snowy conditions didn't prevent a lot of bicyclists and motorcyclists from getting to school and work. Crazy!
One of my classes and IOne of my classes and I
One of my classes and I

..after my first 45 minute demo in which their parents sit in class and watch our lesson.Yes,they enjoyed it. Soon after,bonded by introducing them to some musical chairs with Katie Perry and Soulja Boy


28th February 2011
One of my classes and I

You Rock!
Those kids are so lucky to have such an awesome teacher like you!! We miss you!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb