The Long March


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Yan'an
November 12th 2010
Published: November 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I bought a book in Beijing on the Long March by Sun Yinshan (name may be incorrect, the book is not with me). I was thinking of following the path of the Long March in reverse, starting at Yan'an in Shaanxi province. But the book changed my mind.
Some years ago, I read Edgar Snow's version of the Long March based on interviews with Mao and other high ranking leaders. He was allowed to interview them shortly after the Long March was completed, but Mao and the others retained the right to edit the material before publishing. Edgar Snow's version glorified the Long March and the communist leadership.
Sun's book was based on interviews with survivors of the Long March, the rank and file members of the Red Army. A far different picture emerges from her book.
I tried to upload some observations about Sun's book but this site rejected the entry. I'm a little paranoid today, read "ruled by my stomach".
Enough to say that I am not following the march and heading south to enjoy warmer temps and the company of other tourists.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb