I'm Cured...It's a Miracle


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Have been feeling a bit rundown for a while, so when Cecelia (the Chinese wife of David, the Scottish fella) said that she was going to her TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine) doctor for another bout of acupuncture, I thought it would be a wonderful idea to accompany her and see what the story is. My total experience so far with TCM was a brief lecture by CCS, and one needle in the base of my thumb as an experiment. None of us felt any better, the only one affected in any way was Alex, who promptly went green and clammy, as he has issues with needles. But, I thought I should give someone a chance, as I do have faith in it, if done properly.

The doctor is lovely, I can't understand a word, as he speaks very heavy Shaanxihua (dialect), and laughs all the time. He held my wrists for about five minutes, then told me what was wrong. Low blood pressure, it seems, and bad circulation. So, onto the needles we go.

It is very different to stories I have heard from the West. None of these mini-needles, asking if it hurts or not. Huge three-inch
David the ScotDavid the ScotDavid the Scot

aka the Monk, for obvious reasons
needles, feeling like they're pricking your soul, dotted up and down my back, with four in my bum. And no asking if it hurts, you have to squirm and yell until he is sure the needle is in properly. Cec came over to hold my hand once he had covered me up with a towel, but my left hand went numb, and I felt really queasy, so she went to play with the baby they have instead, as I wasn't as fun as she would have liked! After laying there like a fool for half an hour, the doctor toddled back, with four empty mayonnaise jars. Time for cupping. A few mini suctions all over my back, then another fifteen minutes laying there with the four jars tight on my back. About three inches of skin sucked into them, apparently. Nice! Just as I couldn't take it any more, he desuctioned me, wiped off the gunk, and giggled. He asked Cec whether he should charge me the Chinese price or the Laowai (foreigner) price. Unimpressed, she said I should pay the same as her, 150 yuan for ten sessions, rather than 200 for one session, as a Korean lady had
Me and CecMe and CecMe and Cec

Ninja and Monkey, respectively. David has started calling me the Teenage Mutant Ginga Turtle, as he thinks I'm a ging. He's wrong.
paid a bit before me. You do have to be careful with TCM doctors here, a lot cater only for foreigners, and stick needles everywhere, and cups everywhere, rather than in the certain pressure points that will actually do you good, depending on your need. I went straight home, and lay on my side for about two hours, so bruised was my poor back! I'll take photos of the bruises to show you all - yummy!

I went back for my second session on Tuesday, slightly different needle alignment this time - none in the backs of my knees, thank goodness - they were the worst. Only two cups, but some acupressure on my temples and neck, far far worse than needles, this man has fingers of granite. And a thump on my coccyx for good measure. And a lovely big bag of herbs to boil up and drink for ten days. They smell vile, and taste worse. I have to have a Snickers bar next to me to take a bite after every mouthful of this brown, viscous liquid. I'd better not have cold feet ever again! Met Cec afterwards for lunch, as she works very close. We
David and WilliamDavid and WilliamDavid and William

David and one of our students, down at Fat Boys, our local shop who sells us beer and lets us sit outside on nice days. Inside at his diningroom table on rainy days, so we can still play cards.
found a fabulous Hunnan restaurant, with my favourite tofu salad, sizzling beef, and Chinese garlic sprouts. I think it'll turn into a regular Tuesday thing, too good not to take the opportunity.

The downside is that David is moving schools, he won't be teaching at Chang An anymore, he's moving south and west to a primary school. But now he'll have weekends free, so we'll have more time in the week to study, rather than going drinking beer to keep him company!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Me and WilliamMe and William
Me and William

Hasn't he got a big head!!


22nd June 2007

Pay Attention
This is a message to all Erins friends - please be so kind as to let her know you are reading her blog - she is feeling a bit home sick and could do with some in-put. As the internet connection is a bit suspect at times, this is the best way to let her know she is not fotgotten by us all!
24th June 2007

Hi Erin Glad it's you not me, I too am needle phobic and the whole exreience sounds pretty dire, however I too am a great believer in alternative therapies so let me know if it does the trick. Sounds like you are having a super time, talked to your Mum the other day and as soon as she can hop along, we are going to have lunch and catch up. Love to you Helen
24th June 2007

Hmm...
Not so much homesick, more wondering if anyone is actually reading this. If you are, I'll put more effort into it!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb