Xining to Yushu and Zadou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Qinghai » Jyekundo/Yushu
August 28th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK, I will try this entry again. I had written for 20 minutes about the beauty of this land, and then the manager of this internet cafe in Zadou pullled the plug, the hour done. No bother to ask if I wanted to continue, no warning, may I add very annoying! However, this is China and I am in the middle of nowhere so I shouldn't be surprised at anything that happens here. I realized it is hard to count on anything here, like times and plans and schedules, I just didn't expect to be shut down without warning, but hey it goes with the territories of expectations. Now I will save this as a draft and hope my entry doesn't get shut down again.

OK, so the ride from Xining to Yushu was amazing and although one must be willing to take your life in your hands to go anywhere in C, this route is particularly spectacular. In fact, after seeing these jutting mountains ranges filled with roaming nomads and their white C made tents, or black yak tents, herding their yaks and sheep (now preferred by the C even though the sheep ruin the grasslands while the yak don't) one realizes why the C wanted to steal their neighbors land, the natural resources astounding. I understand this area has the largest uranium mines in the world, but I can see with my own eyes the treasures beyond measure, what used to be Tibett offers. The roaming hills and valleys of green, the spiking mountains, the clouds more fluffy than anywhere on earth. This beauty is incomparable to anywhere else on earth, and I have traveled most of it. The red and yellow rivers, the landscapes dotted with traditionally dressed nomads, the rich ore, the fields of wheat and barley, the lushious garden of the top fo the world. Yes, take this route, but hold on to your seat. You will be bounced and thrown every which way while you face headon collisions at every hairpin turn. The norm everywhere in C is turning left in front of oncoming cars, not staying in lines, sort of like a bumper car ride, but then that comes with traveling in lands like these.

Yushu town gives one the impression of being inside a movie set of old Tibet, most people dressed in tradional dress, roaming from old market to old market, selling wares at outdoor markets, and yet they have a few western electronic stores strategically placed here and there. Still, your shopping is from carts or small dark shops.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb