Remembering the farewells Part Two...Dawukou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Ningxia
May 11th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A reason to be happy



Anniversaries are funny things aren’t they? To be completely honest I am not married nor do I have a girlfriend. However, anniversaries can accompany just about any event, I believe. For example next May I will be graduated fromLakesideLutheranHigh Schoolfor exactly 10 years. I have now been graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater for two years. Think about your own life for a moment. If you are married or single like me, you have many events in your life that you mark with time. Latter you mark that period of time with an anniversary of some kind.

Normally a person can ask you when you will celebrate your birthday. Well, there is only one day that is your actual birthday. That is when your mother gave you life. The rest of them are actually the anniversary of your birthday. Speaking of which, my di-di (little brother) celebrated the 21st anniversary of his birthday this past Monday. My biological Jie-Jie (older sister) celebrated the anniversary of her birthday. I’ll only say that she’s over Thirty, by one year.

This past Thursday marked my ninth anniversary here in the District of Dawukou which lies in the City ofShizuishan, in theprovinceofNingxiain the People’s Republic ofChina. While my departure is fast approaching (when I am writing this I have only 20 days left here) I have many reasons to be happy and to be thankful for.

The first are the many friendships that I’ve formed with the wonderful people here in this corner ofChina. I’ve also made friendships with people from other parts ofChinain places such asShanghai, Xian, Chuzhou andBeijing. When I first arrived here I had only the television and bare walls to look at. I was grateful, however, for the video game on the television which helped to pass time. The great thing about my friends is that I can call them up on a Wednesday and we’ll be going to a park or watching a movie together that very day.

Friends are also great because make traveling and bargaining so much easier. They also provide a kind of security when walking about in public, or a sense of wonder. I imagine that when I am walking with a friend in this town the people look at us and wonder “What is that foreigner doing with a Chinese person?” I don’t mind because it is nice to walk and talk with someone. Also when you least expect it they’ll invite you to their hometown in Inner Mongolia or theAnhuiProvince.

I am grateful for having visitedShanghai, Xian andBeijing. When I first came toChinaonlyShanghaiwas on my mind, and when I visited this city it was certainly a dream come true.Shanghaiis the place where a sense of adventure is required. It demands the utmost attention and will drain you physically, but it gives so much more in return. This city gives you the satisfaction of having seen with your own eyes what you’ve seen in the pictures. This city and the adventure both to it and from it gave me enough material for four newsletters too.

Xian is also a wonder to behold. This is a city that is thousands of years old. The Terra Cotta warriors, parks, museums and the city wall testitfy that this city is as old as time itself. This place, however, is not stuck in the past. Like much of Chinait is striving to be a part of the 21st century. One has to look no father than the McDonalds or Starbucks to see how Xian is becoming a city of the 21st century.

It is official; I have spent more time in the capitals ofRussiaandChinathan I have in the capital of theUnited States. Some day I’ll correct this, but for now I have no regrets.Beijingis a very manageable city. I was very grateful for the subway system, which made it easier to get around this magnificent city. I was very grateful to see the Bird’s Nest which will be the site of the 2008 Olympics. I was grateful to have eaten pizza in this very Chinese city.

I am happy to have spent this time here inChina. I am grateful for having been here in the district of Dawukou and meeting it’s people. Before I arrived here I was told my time here would go fast. The people who told me that were right, it has gone fast, but it has gone well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb