Remembering the bitter-sweet.....Dawukou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Ningxia
May 11th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Newsletter 29

By: R. Draeger Jr.



Learning to say good-bye



I remember exactly twenty years ago about this same month. My family had just relocated to what was then West Germany and we were only in our second month out of a total four years. I was not thrilled to be in this country, even though I was born in it eight years earlier. The one person that changed it was a young lady who had shoulder length brown hair and a nice smile. At Zweibrucken Elementary School we were in the same “Moonbeams” reading class.



Even as a kid it was nice to have someone to talk to on the buss. This young lady, however, would be the first in a never ending process that is all too common with Military Brats. I do regret not having walked her home a little more often, especially since I was in the throws of “Puppy Love”. She would be out of my life by the time the next school semester started. I have not seen her for these twenty years. When I was growing up in the United States Air Force I learned how to say “Hi” and then “Good-bye” to friends. The “Good-bye” could come as early as the next week or it could come later. It does not get easier to say “Good-bye” even as the years go on.



Such is now my situation here in China. When I was in the midst of returning to Yinchuan from Chuzhou I faced a similar situation. The young lady, while not my girlfriend (new pang-you), was indeed a welcomed friend. Her curly brown hair and nice smile were a sight for sore eyes compared to the other faces that sat across from me during that trip.



I was grateful that she lived in Yinchuan, which is only an hour south of Dawukou. The week of Spring-Festival I spent with her and her family in Yinchuan. By way of size, Yinchuan is rather larger than my current city. That was until I met Cindy and she brought it down to size for me. I can now successfully navigate my way through the capital city of the Ningxia Province. This capital city, however, will not be the same much longer. As it was a source of joy, although temporary, it will soon become the opposite for two reasons.



My friend has found a job in Xining, which is in a province that borders Tibet. It is far away from Ningxia Province. I will remember, however, the times we spent together. I will cherish them, and hope that one day either in this life or even eternity, that we can meet once more. I will not forget going to the zoo with her in Yinchuan or ridding the Ferris wheel. I will remember with fondness how I took her by the hand and led through a cave that was designed to frighten those who walk through it, or how she screamed at one point because of a hideous laugh.



I will also remember her family, who adopted me and taught me a little bit of Chinese. The times spent with her and her family I will be grateful for. Fate knows that they fed and watered me well. Especially when her brother-in-law made Fried Chicken for me, it was delicious. I guess that I can take pleasure in the fact that we’re still on the same planet.



Yinchuan, apart from now becoming a shell of its former self, is also a heart-breaker. In 50 some days I will be leaving from there. The trip I take from there will be when I go back to Wisconsin. I guess in the mean time I’ll have to learn how to say good-bye…



Zaijian

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb