Remembering the celebrations....Dawukou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Ningxia
May 11th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Get togetherGet togetherGet together

Times like these made Dawukou special
Newsletter #11

A party of a different Kind

Well since you are all done voting I am sure that you can devote the time to reading this!

On Tuesday a party took place that took around 60 years to put together. It was the birthday of one of my fellow teachers and it was well worth the wait. This was a party where all kinds of people came to wish my fellow teacher well and to mingle with one another.

At 7 P.M. when I went to this event in the small apartment it was not too packed yet. My fellow teacher, my friend, is a rather good photographer and so I took the opportunity to look at some of his photos. The ones that I looked at on the display he made took about 10 years to take and then display. They were from different times and places in his life. Some were from one small island in the Caribbean and were full of people and tropical beauty. The beauty in them is the kind people wish for during the cold Midwestern (and Pacific Northwest). Others were from here in China from a 2004 New Years Festival. He worked to make them larger than normal and the results were very good. These masterpieces were full of color, lights and action. The only thing that would be better than looking at these pictures would be in person at those locations.

When I first arrived at the party there was a city official and a friend of my fellow teacher. I had the chance to use the little bit of Chinese I know. “Ni Hao. Wo ge-ao Le-cha-da. Gen dow knee hen gao shing.” (Hello, my name is Richard. Nice to meet you). She was too kind in her evaluation.

In the matter of about 15 minutes the small apartment was starting to fill up. The opportunity to meet people that I’ve come to know, as well as a few new faces, is an opportunity I’ll cherish for the rest of my life! As the saying goes it was “A once in a lifetime event!” The mixing of American culture with Chinese friends and Caribbean music in the background was awesome! Everybody was talking with everybody in both Chinese and English.

At one point, my friend gave a speech to thank all of us for sharing this little bit of time with him! Well, as it was a school night the party soon came to an end. As will this current newsletter! So until next week, Zaijian!







Author’s note:

I’ve kept this newsletter small for a reason. I am currently working on book #2 which will require the input of many individuals. If you have the time to answer these few questions, great! Please email your response to me at richarddraeger_jr@hotmail.

com

1) If there is one thing you wanted to learn about the Chinese people, what would it be?
2) If you could say one thing to the Chinese people, what would it be?
3) If there was one thing you could say to fellow Americans about the Chinese people, what would it be?

I look forward to your response! Feel free to email me your response to me at richarddraeger_jr@hotmail.

com.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb