Lots of Dumplings


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » Nanchang
September 2nd 2013
Published: September 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We’ve been in Nanchang, China for about 5 days now. Ava had her first day of school yesterday. She says she made a friend whose name is Zandar (probably spelled with an X instead of a Z). I paid approximately $44 for the month and she will go full time. This price includes her lunch at school. I know that most of the daycares overseas are about as expensive as in the U.S., so I will really do my best to stay here for the 2 years until she will be able to start primary school in whatever country in next in our list. There are a lot of kids in the school but the teachers seem to have control over them and Ava was very excited to have made a friend. Her teacher said that Ava seems to be a very clever and friendly girl and that she will do well despite her nonexistent knowledge of Mandarin. She doesn’t have to wear any official uniform or t-shirt, nor does she have to wear indoor slippers.

Having our internet installed has been a real challenge because it requires stamps and certificates and can only be completed by one official person. So, if that one person is busy, we have to wait until they are able to help us. It seems to be the story for every simple thing that needs to get done. The good thing is that the weather cooled considerably two days after we arrived. It’s now closer to an average northern Michigan summer temperature and perhaps more reasonable than that. We only sweat after we’ve been walking for a while and there is a somewhat steady breeze. It’s actually pretty nice and we are hoping the weather sticks for a while.

Yesterday while Ava was in school, Zac, Lauryn, and I went into town to buy a few more odds and ends for our apartments. We got there early and decided to explore the town before going to Walmart. We really like the back streets and ate some yummy street food. I saw a diner with “Dumplings” written on the side and started dreaming about the soup dumplings that JingJing introduced us to in Philadelphia. So, we all went inside and I decided to try to order. I made the motion of a bowl and eating soup with my hands and then said “dumplings”, but the cashier looked confused. So, I said “dumplings” and it seemed like I needed to give a number. I gave the sign for 6 because that seemed like a good amount of dumplings for one person. The cashier nodded and then asked another question. My thought was that she wanted to know what type of dumpling, so I pushed my nose to look like a pig’s nose and she nodded again. I paid about $5, which I thought was a little pricey for 6 dumplings, but let it go. Zac suggested that we split up the order since we were trying something new and they would like to be saved the pain of ordering. We found a seat downstairs and a woman looked at my receipt and wrote something on it. Then she went to get a cart and we had to choose between a red chili dip and chunks of garlic. In the end, we decided to get a saucer of both. Then the woman brought us about 30 dumplings! We realized that I had ordered 6 SERVINGS of dumplings! So, like the fantastic Americans we are, we bellied up to the table and went to work on those dumplings. After not having meat for several days, the pork was amazing. We finished the whole plate of dumplings without any room left in our bellies. We decided to walk around a bit more before hitting Walmart and found a great street with a lot of street food vendors. It smelled amazing and most of it looked absolutely delicious. However, we were way too full from the dumplings to try any of it. We will definitely be going back several times during our stay though. Expect more video as well, since many of the vendors make the food right there. Buying food at a Chinese dumpling shop and eating street food were definitely confidence builders for us and I don’t think we will feel the need to rely on American franchises while we are here. We did find Pizza Hut, Papa Johns, KFC, and Starbucks next to Walmart. It’s nice to know it’s there but better to know that we can find cheaper, more delicious Chinese food by walking down a side street.

In have included video below to help you better visualize streets in Nanchang. You may have to copy and paste them into your browser until I learn to format videos from Vimeo.



Video from a side street in Nanchang's city center: https://vimeo.com/73769989

Street near NIT with some olympic buildings: https://vimeo.com/73821392

Street on the outskirts of Nanchang: https://vimeo.com/73824294

Streets near the city center of Nanchang: https://vimeo.com/73824502


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



5th September 2013

Lots of Dumplings!
I pictured the three of you eating dumplings while laughing as I read this, ... and thanks for the pic of the police car!
5th September 2013

Hey Conrad!
The police car is certainly interesting, isn't it? Zac pointed it out and I thought it was hysterical as well. I'm glad that the thought of us hogging down 30 dumplings amused you. It was a pretty funny sight! And delicious :)
5th September 2013

sooo jealous
You are making me a little "homesick" for my time there. Concerning the heat, I believe Nanchang is one of the "five furnaces" of China, which include Chongqing, Nanjing, Wuhan, Nanchang, and Changsha. Extremely hot and humid in the summer, so you will need to find a place to xiaoshu, or get away from the heat!
20th September 2013

Kirtland, Lauryn, Zach and Ava, I miss you guys so much!!! Kirtland, your writing is FANTASTIC!! I am like a hungry reader craving your articles! They are all so authentic, personal and absolutely interesting! A lot of the things I didn\'t realize it would be an issue ...but nay, you guys got the best of it! I am so proud of you guys. Today when I took the bus to work, it suddenly hit me that you might get confused while taking the bus. I know the better buses will call the stops each time, but some buses are not advanced enough to have the announcer and to make it worse, they don\'t have the strings to pull to signal stop. Normally people just get close to the door while approaching the stops and drivers will confirm if he needs to stop or not..I don\'t know if this will be an issue but maybe you guys will take taxi as well since it is not too big of difference in price for four of you guys. Your blog makes me feel like I need to start a blog as well and note down my experiences here. :-) While reading your stories, I am thinking of my students who study Chinese. I would like to ask them to read your blog and get first-hand information about the interesting and exotic China. As you are a fun writer, I can not see why they would not follow :-) Life is still peaceful here in Michigan and fall is definitely on her way. I feel extremely happy reading your blog and getting to know the life you experience. :-) I hope you can download a wechat or QQ for instant talk/message with us here! Or we could set up a videochat somehow. Just let me know your availability! And don\'t forget to give me your Chinese phone number so that I can call you!!! :-D I am looking forward to reading more of your stories!
21st September 2013

Thank you!
Hey JJ, Thank you for the kind words about the blog. I really try to keep it interesting and also try to be accurate in my descriptions. It's a lot of fun for me to share my view of this country with other Americans. I would love it if more people read the blog, so feel free to spread the link! :D I think that you should write about your experiences in America. I found a journal I wrote in during my stay in Israel. It was interesting to see how differently I viewed the world when I was 20. I think I was very scared of the world and scared to leave home. I read it and realized how much I have grown and how differently I feel about my experiences in Israel now that I am in my 30s. I would love to go back some day (perhaps when there is a short period of calm there) and take Ava with me. If you are too shy to write a blog, you should at least keep an online journal so that you can add photo and video of your experiences from your life and reflect on them from time to time. I still hope that you can visit us at some point. I am pricing tickets for Thailand! We miss you too and I think of you almost daily. Oh... and the buses are not that tough since we cannot remember the names of the stops anyway. We just watch for our stops. The tough part is learning where the buses go!

Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb