This is China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Xuzhou
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post



So I’ve been in China now for about 3 weeks, seems a rather short amount of time and yet enough time has past for me to get into the groove of how most things work around here. I have discovered a rather useful phrase know as TIC which means ‘This is China’ and it is amazing how often I find myself thinking how true that statement is. It really just refers to how there seems to be a constant flow of organized chaos. And for someone who is foreign to the way things are done here, we can only just say’ well, this is China’ because sometimes is no other way of explaining why something is the way it is. It’s a nice way of just going with the flow of things.

On the flip side of situations though, I’m finding myself under pressure of being culturally correct. For example, when we all go out for dinner with some Chinese friends or co-workers I feel like I’m overly polite and let still manage to do something incorrect. I think the last screw up I did was taking a sip of my drink at the wrong moment of a
Tasty Hot PotTasty Hot PotTasty Hot Pot

That spicy side, made me sneeze before I started eating.
conversation or not before someone else who should have drank before me. I’m not exactly sure what I did, but they told me off for it anyways. Ah TIC eh? I will say though, the people after they tell you what you’re doing wrong are very friendly. In fact, I have now three Chinese adopted mothers, two uncles, and a couple brothers and sister and one father. Not to mention the family who owns Tom and Jerry’s, who took myself and two other co workers to the park for some kite flying, Frisbee throwing and ice cream eating…. It was a pretty rough day 😊

There have been lots of events in the past 3 weeks, and even in the last few days. One of my roommates, Patrick, came down with some nasty bug that made him check into the hospital and get hooked up to an IV for a day. We still don’t know what exactly he had, but he seems to be doing much better now. It was a strange feeling being in a Chinese hospital, if you would call it that. Reminded me of the place Jack Nicholson was in, in the movie One Flew Over
Hot Pot Hot Pot Hot Pot

I really love the Hot Pot
the Cuckoo Nest. Except more people smoking in the rooms, and drunken men hooked up to IVs, and the smell was enough to make you feel healthy enough to walk out of there with a broken leg. However, no one else seemed to noticed this.. The hospitals back home look marvelous in comparison, like a five star hotel next to the one he was in. Poor guy, we’re all really thankful it didn’t last any longer than it did. I’ll keep drinking my bottled water and eating at Tom and Jerry’s, so don’t worry (dad). On a happier note, I’ve been taking Chinese lessons, only once a week for a few hours. I’ll have my second lesson tomorrow, so don’t go thinking I’m good or anything… I’m still terrible.







Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



22nd April 2008

so, ummm, whatcha been doing for the last month? I am anxiously awaiting your next update! Hope things are swell.

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb