Interesting calendar


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
September 26th 2006
Published: September 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Moon cakesMoon cakesMoon cakes

The Foreign Affairs Office gave us these beautiful and delicious moon cakes to celebrate the Mid-Autumn Festival.
Interesting Calendar

Everyone does the same thing at the same time here. The whole country is on Beijing time. There are no time zones.

Everyone eats at the same time, for example, at 6:30-7:30 AM everyone eats breakfast; 11:30-12:30 is lunch; and Oct. 1-7 is the holiday. It doesn't matter which days of the week it falls on. Everyone, schools, businesses, government, etc. is on vacation and may be traveling. It's a time to be with your family.

Because universities have weekly schedules, the days are adjusted to match the holiday. So, on September 30 which is really a Saturday, I have my Monday classes. I'm on holiday Oct. 1-7. On October 8, which is really a Sunday, I have my Tuesday classes. On October 9, really a Monday, I have my Monday classes.

When the students first were explaining this to me, I just couldn't get it. "What do you mean? I teach Monday's classes on Saturday?"

I'm glad I enjoy change, variety, and humans. I'm having fun trying to catch on, and enjoying my own dilemmas. As long as I get enough sleep. So it's now 9:45 on Tuesday night; in the U.S. it's 9:45 Tuesday morning. Since I've already been through today, let me tell you that you have a wonderful day coming up, 28 C. (about 82 F.) clear, and lots of car horns sounding.

Good night!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

good friends hold handsgood friends hold hands
good friends hold hands

Close friends hold hands, hook arms, and show affection. It's nice.
bike repairbike repair
bike repair

Omnipresent bike repair


28th September 2006

Your Tues. weather report was not true for the Phila. region!! Colder here. The photos are so clear on your site and the moon cake wrapping so beautiful! Have you seen any candy that looks like Necco wafers? Alisha had some in school one day for snack and pointed to the Chinese symbols, read them with a tone of, "Can't you read this for yourself??" Today she said she is so excited cuz her grandma and grandpa who have been back in China since last summer are coming home very soon. Hope you are well! That days of the week stuff is wild! Imagine being absent minded there about what day it is?!? Love, Gailey

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb