Nanjing late afternoon wandering


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
December 18th 2011
Published: December 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I blathered on rather too long in the last one -- with a few snaps -- so more snaps will make up for hopefully brief text (otherwise I will never get to bed).

That was my excuse last night -- had to catch up with sleep so went to bed at 10:30 PM and did not get up till 10:30 AM. Just spent some time in the room looking at the Net and so on and finding out what sites were blocked by the Chinese cyber snoopers - quite a lot like Facebook etc. Anyway finally got out late in the afternoon and decided to take a metro ride to the east to the Ming palace ruins area, being well aware that there was virtually nothing left. This was indeed the case, particularly when it is virtually dark as it was when I got there! There are the remains of what I took to be the city wall at one end -- and through an archway you can see how massive these were - around 30 feet or so. Soaking up the atmosphere in the dark was hardly that eventful so hopped back on the metro to Xinjiekou where there
Nanjing 1912 KFCNanjing 1912 KFCNanjing 1912 KFC

for some reason blankets China
is a change to the North/South line.

I have not found out how much further you can go for 2 RMB (about 30 cents) as this is all it also cost from the railway station to my hotel. Wandered around an area where there were lots of small food stands, some pictured, and some restaurants upstairs etc. The lady standing outside one restaurant had called me with "English menu inside". (I later discovered that they took turns putting the quilted coat on to stand outside in 0 temps to attract customers like me). After trying at another which did not have one, I decided to try this one on the way back. It was supposedly Jingling cuisine which I assume is local (do not correct me if you know better!). I had a fried pork mince and radish dish which was quite tasty and had quite a few red chilli pieces evident (which after my recent experience I was able to actually avoid downing!). Then the sweetcorn and egg flower soup arrived -- a huge dish as it was last night -- designed to be shared no doubt. I managed only about 3 or 4 small bowls. It tasted
Taiping Lu STaiping Lu STaiping Lu S

does this make you feel cold (2 deg.?)
really nice and the corn was obviously fresh, which makes a difference. No Tsingtao beer so Snow beer had to do. Then the metro home more or less -- still a five-minute walk though.



Current temp is -2 (but it is midnight). Warmer tomorrow soaring to max.10.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

nr Ming ruinsnr Ming ruins
nr Ming ruins

treats on sticks are?


18th December 2011

Wandering food.
Hi Mike, Aha, so all the "spruikers" to attract business/tourista's, are not on the Gold Coast! Lovely photo's, a wide range of slippers on that stall. Love Huddo and girls.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb