Epic Bike Ride to 太湖 (Lake Tai)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Changzhou
April 5th 2012
Published: April 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

About a month ago, when Lauren and I had submitted our passports to the local immigration office for the processing of our residency permits, we stayed here in Changzhou for the weekend. One of the first things we did was purchase bikes to help us get around town a little quicker. The following day, I had the crazy notion to take my new bike on a 40+ mile long ride to the shores of Lake Tai. The lake is very famous throughout China, and is the third largest lake in the entire country. Several large urban areas have been built near its edges, but most areas remain fairly rural.

A piece of the Changzhou municipality touches the lake, so I decided to check it out for the day. It took several hours to get to the lake, and I passed through countless farms and gardens in the countryside on the way out. Like virtually all of southern Jiangsu Province, this area is criss-crossed with an endless amount of canals. The scenery made for some very nice pictures and an interesting memory.

Once I got to the lake, the mist and fog had gotten so bad that I couldn't really see much of anything. Looking out over the water was just like looking into a gray abyss. And as luck would have it, rain started to fall as I started back home to the apartment. It didn't stop raining until I got back either. By the time I got back, everything I owned was wet. I was soaked to the bone and shivering. I literally poured stading water out of my shoes on the porch before coming inside.

Totally worth it though!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



5th April 2012

Bike Ride
Nick, it was interesting reading about the bike ride and seeing the pictures after talking to you about it on the phone. A whole different perspective. Great pics by the way and good writing too. Keep it up, Dan

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb