First day of class


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Changzhou
September 20th 2010
Published: September 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My first day of class today and I was very nervous! My first class was engineering students and their were about 25 boys and one girl. My second class was commerce majors and it was about 2/3 girls. In my first class it was over 32 degrees C in the class room and I was sweating up a storm! My students looked legitimately worried, lol, I was so embarrassed! Students kept passing me tissues to wipe the sweat and all their 7-ups and water, face = red. So far I have been AMBUSHED and I do mean ambushed, by two excited freshmen who wanted my phone number so when I have time we can 'play' I'm not sure what this means but Tom says they just want help with their English. The 1st ambush was at my office "Where are you going?" she asked as she block me from putting my key in the door, "to my office?" I said. " I would like for us to be friends yes?" "Ok..." She then came in to my office with her giggling gaggle of friends and she spoke to me in weird broken English. It must be what celebrities feel like! anyways my first class went really well except the excessive sweating and my 2nd class went even better, much more understanding and participation. It was weird though because the boys took pictures of me with their phones while I was teaching, they thought they were sneaky but they weren't. I gave both classes homework but we will see how much they understood next time, we have a holiday till next week. I am feeling good about my lesson plans and have an idea of class pacing now, YAY. Ok it's nighttime tea time.

-Laura

p.s. McDonalds delivers here... bizzare

Advertisement



20th September 2010

Awesome
Excellent, glad is going awesomely well for you. Everyone will be speaking English fluently in no timr with your assistance. Love you, miss you.
24th September 2010

culture shock!
holy crap, sounds hot, yay for your first class going well! And McDonalds delivery??? must be better quality than here cuz whenever I don't eat my burger immediately it gets all soggy and gross...lol. Don't have to much fun "playing" ;)
26th September 2010

Classes!
Wow, they took photos of you in class? Sorta distracting... Congratulations, you're a celebrity! If you value your private time, don't give them your phone number or address, or you will be BOMBARDED by people (not even just your students) wanting help with English. They are sweet, though, aren't they? I remember my students being very shy and self-conscious about speaking English out loud. Wow, I'm surprised you have a class of almost all boys. When Matt and I were at Yantai U., it was almost totally girls. Sounds like you are doing a great job and becoming a great teacher. Good luck beating the heat! It does get better, from what I remember. It may have hit 100 degrees here today, BTW. Tomatoes are finally getting red. Love, Colleen )>
26th September 2010

re: celebrity
I'm glad Matt is reading my comics! there are some good ones in there :) Since this is an engineering school there are mostly boys, it's pretty weird they are very cocky and disruptive just like any 19 yr old boys. Thanks for your kind words <3

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb