Ta-ra the 'sha


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hunan » ChangSha
June 15th 2009
Published: June 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So once again my Littlest Hobo moment has come and it's time to move on. Exams and marking finished last week so even though my contract is up at the end of July, I'm free to go. I have a Visa until mid-August so I'm planning a couple of months traveling around China. Then it's back to UK for a PGCE.

Changsha

So, Changsha eh? For those of you planning a visit, here are some Pro's and Con's

Pro's

- Known as the party capital of China, the street I live on has about 30 or 40 bars. Two new bar-littered streets have popped up since I've been here. They don't exactly offer a lot of diversity, but they're there.

- Street food. You're peckish at 5am in the morning? No problem. Watch out for your stomach though.

- Ranked Number 3 in 'China's Prettiest Girls'.

- One of China's more 'backward' cities, with english not so prevalent - great for practising your chinese.

Con's

- Not exactly the most beautiful places I've been to. You can probably judge this by the fact that all my
A blur of motionA blur of motionA blur of motion

Had to move my arms really quickly for this one
photos with this Blog are teaching photos. However, I've not exactly ventured much outside of Changsha, so I can't really comment on Hunan as a province.

- Worst weather for any place I've lived. Suprisingly cold in Winter for a city boasting a 'sub-tropical' climate (and no central heating) and flippin' hot and humid in Summer. Prones to sudden changes as well - I've had my air-conditioner quite literally blowing hot and cold on different days.

- 'Non spicy' food doesn't exist here. Maybe a 'Pro' for some but not my stomach!

- Lack of quite a few foreign goods. Again maybe a "pro' for some.


Teaching

Once again the teaching has been great, and I continually feel lucky to have made that decision 4 years ago. I feel that a year's teaching Maths will help me a lot for the PGCE. Being back in the UK will be strange but it will be really beneficial to do a more structured teaching course.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

IFYIFY
IFY

Students who will go to study in UK this year


23rd June 2009

you are doing great!
Hi tim, you look like really enjoy what you are doing, good for you! Jingshu, from ready english.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb