Fun day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
May 22nd 2011
Published: May 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's been a fun day today. My friends and I got invited to be guests at a restaurant opening. It was Brazillian BBQ. We got tons of free food and wine, a manicure set, and were generally made much of for the whole of the morning. We also met the boss of the establishment, and had tons of pictures taken of us. There were people dancing in skirts made out of plastic fruit. The place is quite near my school, and we got invited because I frequent a coffee shop owned by the same person. Also, because the owner wanted westerners at the opening of his western restaurant, and my friends and I fit the bill.

Other than that? Well, my birthday was at the beginning of the month. Alas, it was right after I came down with what I think was strep throat. The Monday of that week I went into the school and croaked my way through two lessons before giving up and going to the hospital. As usual when I get sick, my asthma was going sort of haywire, and that was a bigger concern to me than the sore throat or anything else. Complaining about the asthma instead of the sore throat probably wasn't the best idea though, because the local hospital has different wings for every sort of complaint, and I ended up in the asthma wing trying to explain that I had asthma problems because I was ill, and could they please give me something to treat said illness...or even just look at my throat? Then they wanted me to stay at the hospital for three days on antibiotic drip, because they figured out that I was indeed sick. After a lot of convincing, I got them to give me antibiotic pills to take home, and a new inhaler imported from Australia, which is much more helpful than any other inhaler I've managed to buy here. I think it was a sign that my Chinese has gotten better that I was finally able to get them to give me the correct kind of medicine. Anyway, after that, I passed the week at home being sick, and after not eating for about three days, dragged myself out for Thai food with my friends on my birthday evening. At least one of those friends ended up getting strep throat as well.

Work is still going well. We've been doing more creative writing in class, and I've noticed my students are getting quite good at it. Their stories are the most interesting things to correct. I've almost decided which classes to teach for next year. I know I'll be keeping three of my grade three classes into grade four, and dropping one. Then I'll either have one or two new grade one classes. I'm on the fence about whether or not to teach my grade four students into grade five -- they're an awesome group of kids, but teaching them would mean teaching three different levels and much more marking and lesson planning. Also, I think I'm more suited for teaching younger kids than older ones. The school year is winding down, so the kids are getting antsy. I am too. I've already packed for going back to America, though I still don't have the tickets because it's still unknown what day we finish school.

Advertisement



22nd May 2011

Ages
How long has it been since you've been back?
23rd May 2011

Sorry for the strep-hospital adventure.....but Happy Birthday late........

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb