*COUGH*-birthdays and gua sha


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
September 22nd 2009
Published: October 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Dancin at DF
It's been a crazy couple of weeks. It seems like there are birthdays here on a weekly basis 😊 which so far there have been.
This past week we had a little situation at the school, some - rather quite a number of our students came down with the flu. Given the fear of h1n1 , drastic measures have been put in place to deal with any abnormal situations. This is considered to be an abnormal situation! Our school was therefore closed for a week. What more, the following week is the national holiday. So all in all our students are off for 2 weeks. WELCOME BACK TO SCHOOL STUDENTS!
Just like the good professional educators that we are - teachers and admin still have to show up for the regular school hours. Well, can't complain about too much prep time, that would be crazy!
The weekends seem to bring on a sweet timeout like no other. As I stated before we had a few birthdays to celebrate. For two of my colleagues this was a special birthday -- dinner with new friends at a favorite restaurant dubbed - the farm/ Country restaurant - followed by a spectacular display of fireworks
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Being social
with fellow teachers manning the streets to give warning to the renegade traffic that would get too close to the lights display and then some good ole Piejo/baijo influenced bowling at the nearby bowling alley in Lu Xiang.

GUA SHA?

Maybe it's the fact that I can work and play hard all at once here in Wuhan. But recently I caught a case of the sniffles and in order to prevent it from turning into a full blown sinus nightmare, I went for a session of Chinese MEDICINE.
Back when I was in Dalian I would always hit Fairy's for cupping when I could feel a cold coming on. After said session I would be back to normal... I was convinced that this treatment worked --- well it always did for me.
Anywho - here I was feeling a case of the sniffles coming on so I went down and asked for cupping at the local massage parlor.
Instead what I got was something a little extra special.
My back was briefly oiled down and gently massaged --- couldn't believe how relaxing it felt - until all of a sudden I could feel a cool piece of bone
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

Gua Sha and cupping
scarping the back of my neck. At first the feeling wasn't too bad, but with each stroke more pressure was applied until it felt like my skin was being scraped off in long, agonizing strokes. There were several times where I bit my tongue to stop myself from crying out. Even when asked if it hurt, I said no and allowed her to continue at the pressure she was scraping me with. Why? I'm not sure --- probably should have said something...
By the time she was ready to move on to the other side of my spine, my adrenaline had kicked in and I knew what to expect. This time it didn't hurt as much, in fact it was almost relaxing.
After this treatment of Gua sha, she prepared the cups and gently enabled the suction on my back.
I fell asleep for this part of the treatment and awoke to her breaking the seal and pulling the cups off my back.
When I went home that night I tried to get a glimpse of the 'damage'.
With the tenderness, redness and dark bruising I could see that I really needed to get in their and be seen
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Scooter ride for dinner.
and that I should have probably gone in at the first sneeze.
Ah well, now i KNOW for next time!





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

birthday dinner
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

fireworks
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

fireworks
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Lucian by night


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb