People in life


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
December 8th 2008
Published: December 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I want to share some stories of people who have touched me in some way since coming to China. There are many stories, it's hard to just pick a few - but these are the ones on my mind today.

I have been teaching part time at Dos, the school where I taught before. While teaching, I met this amazingly cheerful girl (I will call her V in this post). She is always in my classes, and I've been enjoying getting to know her. One night I was scheduled for an English corner, but only V was there. We started talking about her journey to Australia (she is planning on going there to take nursing) and the test she must take to qualify her for a visa. Then she really opened up to me. Her father is 46 years old, and dying of sinus cancer. Her mother spends all her time taking care of him at a hospital in Wuchang. V spends her days at the school, and her nights at home alone. She is 18. Her parents give her a small amount of spending money every week and make sure the house is stocked with food. They don't have a lot of savings, and what they do have they are spending on two things - hospital bills, and V's English education and her chance to go overseas. She is looked at as the savior of the family, and she is only 18!!! If she doesn't have good enough English, she won't be able to go overseas, and won't be able to take care of her mother when her father passes away. It was the first time I have seen someone break down here in China (the Chinese are usually very good at hiding their emotions), she was sobbing as she told me how much she loved her father, and how much pressure she feels. Every Chinese student has an insane amount of pressure, but this poor girl has double the amount of a normal Chinese student. She told me that life like this is "why some people would consider suicide". Many Chinese think this way - and suicide is the number one way in which Chinese students die. I gave her my cell number and email, told her to call and write any time of day, I'd be there. So far she's written to me almost every day. She is so lonely... it's heartbreaking. And yet, she is one of my most cheerful and hardest working students. It goes to show, you just never know what's going on in a persons life...

And then... I've had a terrible student (named Bird) since I started teaching at our school. He can't keep quiet, is alway disrupting the class, won't study, and refuses to participate. One day, he had a complete turn around. He is now getting 100%'s on quizzes and tests, knows the answers to questions, and is able to translate things I say from English to Chinese. I can't believe the transformation, it's nothing short of miraculous!!! Every once in awhile he forgets himself and chats a little in class, but it's grade 4, that's to be expected. But seriously, you wouldn't recognize him as the same kid!!! Jenny and I can't believe it, we have no idea what made the difference. I can only hope it was my prayers.

Jenny is hoping and praying for the chance to come to Canada. Just to visit, for Jean's and my wedding. Money is not the issue - it's Chinese tradition that might stand in the way. You see, in China, once a couple get married and have a child, they live with the husband's parents. The husband's parents take care of the baby while the husband and wife work. And the husband's parents have the final say in most decisions the husband and wife have to make. Including when and where they go. So... Jenny is married, has a baby, and lives (along with her husband of course) with her husband's parents. They are very strict. She must ask them if she can go shopping with a friend, or out to dinner with colleagues. Now she wants to come to Canada for one week in 2009. She has discussed it with her husband, and he thinks that it is an amazing chance - but she is scared to discuss it with her in-laws. She is afraid they'll say no. I'll keep you posted... such is life in China.

Today one of my students threw a temper tantrum. I wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't seen it myself. His name is Ken, and though I think he is a smart boy, he rarely passes a test or quiz. He prefers to play instead, earning him a permanent position at the front of the class right under my nose. Today he was playing, making faces at the class to make them laugh. Jenny told him to go to the class drivers office, and he dug his heels in. Literally. He grabbed onto the desk, and wouldn't move. Jenny picked him up (lucky for her he's a small kid) and dragged him towards the door. I hate classes like this, sometimes it happens so fast there's nothing to do. Anyways, once out in the hall she had a lengthy discussion with him about his behavior while I continued with the class. When he joined us again, he was the model student - for now.

I realize I haven't posted a blog in awhile, and I will post more very soon. Thanks to those of you who keep in touch with us, your calls and emails are the highlights of our days.




Advertisement



8th December 2008

Wow, this was a great read. That's really neat with the girl opening up to you and everything. People do that to me a lot I find.. I'll be praying for her! It's really interesting, complicated, confusing and suprising to hear about the spouse customs over there... Thanks for the update, Tanya! ;)

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb