A Second Look at Wuhan, Beijing, and Langfang


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
August 2nd 2018
Published: August 2nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Wuhan



The best of these return visits to Wuhan was the chance to see the city better. I was not mostly stuck seeing Guan Gu but other places around Wuhan including around the many metro stations and train stations between all my travels from and to Wuhan. From the Grand Ocean Mall’s statue reproduction of the “running of the bulls” to the wondrous street scene and the many small park and gardens hidden throughout Wuhan. But the reality was that it was finally time to start the last leg of my return “home” to Shenzhen. I had one last chance to see the beauty and modernness of Wuhan before going to my last stop upon my trip list. I had added Langfang for a chance to visit with my friend Terry before finally coming back. Fortunately it gave me an opportunity to stop once more in Beijing.



Beijing



It was only 2 overnights in Beijing; once before going to Langfang and once before returning to Shenzhen. It was a simple trip on a high speed train from Wuhan to Beijing and even a shorter trip from Beijing to Langfang and back. Nothing much had changed in the area I normally would stay in Beijing. I was close to the railway station but the area was quiet and comfortable to stay in for two night but without much chance of any real exploring.



Langfang



My trip to Langfang was where my first surprised awaited me in the form of a double-decker train. Yes, you heard me right and it was a shock to me as I saw it pulling into the station to collect me. It wasn’t as odd the second time I got to ride this special train back to Beijing. It was a chance for me to see a new section of Langfang during this second visit. It was a little bit of a surprising experience but a good time for exercise and relaxation. It was a more lively area of Langfang close to the Wanda Plaza but it still felt muted in comparison to “pulse” of Wuhan, Beijing, Guangzhou, and Shenzhen. This new area was more lively than Xiantao but it was still as relaxing. This was a place to recharge and prepare for my return to Shenzhen where I would always feel busy and rushed.

And with this completed, I was on my way back toward Shenzhen. My time away felt too short at that moment. If I could, I would have continued touring China like I was doing when I first arrived in China. Shenzhen would sometimes feel like a trap that wouldn’t release me easily. It could simply be all the friends I had made there that actually held me in place and busy and not the city itself. Time will tell what I really want to do in the near future or if it’s better to keep myself in the prison like stability that Shenzhen offers me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 111, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb