Moving Along


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Henan » Zhengzhou
July 29th 2012
Published: July 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Central ZengzhouCentral ZengzhouCentral Zengzhou

Outside my hotel room as the nigh food wagons were being rolled out. Shows the fast paced lifestyle... also shows the comparably worse sanitation standards.
After one month, I have finally moved into my new apartment. The contrast in neighborhood, living accomodation, and pace of life is stark from the first place to the current place I live. While the hotel I temporarily lived in was near the heart of the city, my apartment is on the outskirts in 'new city' much closer to where I work. There begins the explanation for the differences: recently completed, the 'new city' is not yet overly crowded as many apartments have been purchased by wealthy families on behalf of their children. By the time their kids marry, the neighborhood will be hustling and busy; plus the families will have a new apartment to begin their new life. Several Chinese friends have told me that people choose to invest in real estate rather than the Chinese stock market because earnings are very meager in the conservative stock market. Thus unless you want to use your savings as capital for your own business, the biggest returns to be made on investment are in real estate. That completes the loop and explains why wealthy families buy apartments for their kids who might still be in their car seats.

Ah I digress,
'New City''New City''New City'

My Block. My building is behind the red Porsche.
back to the comparison of my hotel to my apartment. Since I am on the outskirts of the city, I am thrilled to report the pace of life has slowed down. This is especially nice in the heat of the summer. Fewer people zooming by on 4-wheels, 2-wheels, and on foot. I can actually attempt to have a conversation in a shop without being brushed aside for more impatient customers. Of course this all comes with a grain of salt. I still live in a populated city where I never walk more than two block to find the store/vendor I need (especially the delicious watermelon and canteloupe vendors who bring the fruit fresh from their farms😊, the dish I want to eat, or the message/tea house to spend my afternoon.

Not only has life slowed down, but my level of comfort has increased. The new apartment is a nice 1 bedroom apartment with a seperate kitchen and of course, ample A/C. I have come to learn that 1 bedroom apartments are a rarity because the high majority of single's prefer to live in studio suite's in order to save money. I am told I got lucky finding my place,
Wednesday Night LightsWednesday Night LightsWednesday Night Lights

Like a pro? People come out to watch us play every week.
not sure whether that was honesty or a very good sales pitch by the apartment agency to my Chinese friend...

While I have so much to say, don't want to loose my audience. But I won't go so long between my next post.

Brian


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Xi GuaXi Gua
Xi Gua

Mmmhm. The watermelon is fresh and delicious.
Fountain of YouthFountain of Youth
Fountain of Youth

This fountain just outside my apartment is the focal point of most of the children's' games.


24th August 2012

Hi there, just saw your blog. I think you're quite lucky living in Zhengzhou. I am just visiting and I'm starting to think Zhengzhou is a pretty carcking place. My name is Steven from the UK. I am teaching in Hunan and found myself in Zhengzhou entirely by accident- long story. Lovely place though. I am here for a few days if you'd like a beer.

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb