Day 10


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
November 1st 2016
Published: November 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today was a bit more traveling... Surprise, surprise. I think moving every night is taking a toll. To much time sitting on a bus. And let me tell you, our tour guide today was annoying! She talked and talked and talked. I was very good in blocking out her voice until the last 20 minutes when I sslipped.... I just wanted off the bus so much! I felt like I was in a time share presentation for a city! Anyhow...

Today we went to the pearl factory to learn about fresh water pearls and how they are harvested. That was pretty interesting. They opened a clam in front of us to see everything. This particular clam was only 2 years old, you can tell by the dark lines on its shell, like the age of a tree. we all tried to guess how many pearls would be in such a young shell. Usually they don't open on until it's aged at least 10 years. We were all wrong. The young she'll had about 20 baby sized pearls in it. Kinda gross to look at, but I did get pictures!

Later we had lunch... Another Chinese lunch... You swear I will not eat Chinese food again for like a year. Getting tired of it. It's the same thing at every tour sponsored restaurant. And it's a bit disappointing because I was hoping for some spicy noodles!

After lunch we hopped on the bus for just a short 3 hour drive to our next location, Hangzhou. Nice place. When we got here we had some free time before dinner and the show so we got to check into our hotel early, for once. Meal... Blah... But the show was superb! It basically was the Chinese Hangzhou version of Romeo and Juliet. Lots of beautiful costumes and the acrobats... Truly amazing!

After the show we walked thru the downtown on free time. Lights everywhere down the restaurant block. Apparently we are staying at the same hotel the Turkish president stayed in for the g20 summit. The people, the traffic, the lights. It's a bit overwheling. Okay it's a lot! I can't wait to get back to Canada for some personal space... And the lack of spitting and picking of noses everywhere, anywhere and anytime! I also stopped and picked up a pastry that was to die for!! Bread.... How I miss you!

Before I forget, yesterday at the silk factory, they had a whole bunch of country flags out front... What they mean i don't know, but one picture I'm posting is for my dad. He'll know what I mean!

Tomorrows w is back to Shanghai! Cannot wait!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb