Oops, I... Did it again...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
November 22nd 2013
Published: November 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

So... about 2 weeks ago, I was found sitting in the front lobby of my center all disheveled and woebegone because I was dreading my commute home. Averaging an hour and a half (which means it was significantly longer during rush hour) on public buses, or a 35rmb cab ride (that's really high...), the commute was really starting to get under my skin. Once home, it was typically straight to bed and straight out again in the morning - so all the glorious ideas of spending wonderful, warm evenings at home with my roommates went out the window months ago.



Anyway, so two weeks ago I was grumbling about this when my boss, James, found me. His wife (Savannah), being jobless and having recently uprooted from Jilin, has been bored at home a lot these days. So, he suggested that I speak to her about my woes and maybe draft a plan to find me a new apartment. Two days later, Savannah had already been paying visits to multiple apartments and was dragging me across the street from work to an apartment that she swore was the one.

She had a point, it was a decent space - nice kitchen... But I felt rushed, worried and confused. So, I backed out of the idea quickly. Over the next week, however, Savannah toted me around town looking at apartment after apartment - some in high rises, some in lower-end Chinese buildings, some that smelled like fresh paint, some that smelled like "Chòu dòufu" (Hangzhou's famous "stinky tofu" that smells a bit like month-old gym socks being boiled in urban sewer water seasoned with a pinch of belly-button lint... delicious delicacy, anyone?). Last Friday, we opened a few doors that warranted smiles. Some apartments had lovely living rooms, but still had older "make-do" amenities. Ah... and then we paid a visit to (brace yourselves) "The Lower City Starlit Garden of Greenville" and the 19th floor.

There's a new superstition here at Disney English: If there's a Company character in sight, this is probably the apartment you'll be moving into. My old single had a Mickey Mouse couch. Taryn's apartment has a Mickey welcome mat. Amy's apartment has a Winnie mat. This one? Had Pooh posted all over the door. Had to be it. And it was. So, yes -- I've moved yet again.

Brand new amenities, a stunning view of the canal, gorgeous bathroom, full kitchen... and a 12-inch pillow-top king sized mattress doesn't hurt. (Let me explain: mattresses are hard to come by in China. Often, a "mattress" is what you and I would refer to as a pad - the thin bit of cotton cush that you stretch over the actual mattress so you can't feel the springs. In China, your mattress is the box spring. It's believed that a "firm" --or rock hard-- mattress is better for your general health: not only supporting your spine better, but also promoting better breathing and other bodily flows... sleep tight!). At any rate, I'm a fan of Savannah's handy work with this one. Now that everything's all moved in, I feel great being in there. It's a 7-minute walk to work... and that in and of itself is divine. There're loads of food and grocery options well within walking distance in the neighborhood. And most importantly, for once, I feel that I WANT to spend time in my apartment. I've liked both of my previous apartments fine, but this is really the first time that I've felt homey in my home in China.



That's really the biggest news that I have to bring these days. Things continue to trek laboriously on, day by day. It absolutely blows my mind that I am mere weeks away from having been here a year. These last 6 months are really what flew by. The summer and fall raced by, given how busy and change-y they were. Now, things are settling back into a routine of sorts, so I imagine the pace of the winter will slow a bit.

From here, it's on to the stretch ahead to our next major break in February. It's already been determined that I'll be heading to the States for about 2 weeks in February. There's also potentially some time for travel in that gap as well. There have been many ideas tossed around for a quick week's vacation, with India, Japan, Cambodia, Vietnam, Bali and maybe even South Africa sitting on the wheel of possibility. I will continue to keep you updated as decisions about my next major set of travels come closer to revealing themselves.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



1st December 2013

Nice place
Hi Jessi, glad you have a nice apartment and so close to work!! I am so happy that you are having the time of your life and seeing SO much! Good for you! We had a busy Thanksgiving...my brother with wife and camper came for a week and a day and Tim was here too (leaves Tuesday). Weather is warm and sunny, more like Indian Summer than December. Of course it was cold and snowy while Bill was here!! In the teens at night. (He is from Oregon and not used to cold!) Not much other news...we just go day to day with work, church and village commitments. Take care of yourself...love the blogs! Love, Joyce

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb