Hello Again, Hangzhou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
July 25th 2013
Published: July 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bamboo ForestBamboo ForestBamboo Forest

Some more images from Taryn and my hike 2 weeks ago.
Wow how these weeks do fly...

Last week, I moved out of my apartment. My 6 months there created some pretty awesome memories, but the circumstances being what they were made it time to go - and I am at peace with that. Since then, I have been staying with Taryn in her new apartment, and will continue to do so until August 1 when I can finally settle into my own place. I'm a bit sad that Taryn didn't arrive in Hangzhou one month sooner. I am excited to be moving in with Juliet and Mitch, but I think that Taryn and I have made awesome roommates. She stayed at my place for just over a week as she transitioned to this apartment, and is now returning that favor to me. Both times, we've gotten along exceptionally well and have had a lot of fun. Regardless, I am about a week away from moving into my new place and am very pumped about the new apartment itself. So, on to the next home!

Work continues to be absolute insanity. In their efforts to prep me and effectively train me, my management staff have been sending me to various centers in the region to observe, take pictures, take copious notes, and report back on their efforts and systems. I've spoken with a handful of other Senior Trainers (my new "title") about their responsibilities, pros and cons and the like. It's all been very insightful, but mostly it's just been exhausting. The entire staff is now aware of what is happening in this transition. It's been lovely to see because those that support my promotion are very loud about it, and those that aren't are very quiet about it. Couldn't ask for a better situation, honestly. So, I'm just doing what I do and - as my Director puts it - not apologizing for doing something right. I have a final evaluation from regional coming up this weekend that will mark the final step in my process of moving into the position officially... so, here we go.

Meanwhile, there's been a lot of excitement away from work as well. I've returned to grabbing this Hangzhou experience by the horns and have successfully ventured back out into this world of adventure. Tuesday night, I took Taryn down to the lake to see the Water and Light show that is so famous here. I get nervous about taking people to that... it could easily be perceived as being tacky or cheesy and it could be very easily written off. So, there we were, standing directly in front of the thing, music blaring and lights dazzling... Taryn was very still and quiet, holding up her camera for the occasional picture and video opp. I was nervous about her perception of all of this because she hasn't been enjoying the China part of her stay here much. She's happy with the people that she's met, and really enjoys her work at DE... but has been down on China since she got here. I wanted to holler and dance when I looked over at exactly the moment that she wiped a tear off of her face. I knew then that I'd done it - I finally helped make Hangzhou a keeper for her.





That moment - nah, that entire evening reminded me just how proud I am to be living here. Beyond the boistrous statements that I'll someday be spouting about how IIIIII worked for Disney and IIIIII lived x number of years in China and IIIIII did whatever... Hangzhou in and of itself is a really remarkable thing. There's so much legendary history here, such great stories and SUCH beauty; it's a wonder that I've allowed myself to spend so much time indoors this summer. I'm really kind of shocked at my behavior in that respect. Don't get me wrong, I'm making friends and eating amazing food indoors... but there's so much to be soaked in that I haven't even touched yet. So, I'm glad to have found a companion in Taryn who will allow me to see Hangzhou in its silver-lined sense again.

Anyway, so I'm back on the horse when it comes to my enthusiasm about China. Despite the exhaustion, I am pumped about my new responsibilities. Despite the occasional eye-roll moment, I am excited to be in China. And despite the heat and humidity, I'm excited to get back out there and see what I can see.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1851s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb