When the moon ate the sun and the world didn't end.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
July 24th 2009
Published: August 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I wrote the words, Eclipse of the Sun on the whiteboard.
"Can anyone tell me, what the word 'eclipse' means?"
"Sir! Sir! It's when the Moon eats the Sun!"


I'm back in Indonesia teaching English after a brief holiday in China. There were two highlights of my trip to Hangzhou - seeing my brother David and witnessing the longest total eclipse of the century. It was night time in the middle of the day for five and a half minutes.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Eclipse - July 22ndEclipse - July 22nd
Eclipse - July 22nd

When I woke up early on the 22nd it looked as if the eclipse would be a washout but just before totality the clouds parted...
Impression -  the West LakeImpression -  the West Lake
Impression - the West Lake

This is a performance of music and dance that is held every night on the West Lake. They perform on mats on the lake itself so its looks as if they are walking on the water.


17th August 2009

Eclipse Memories
Great photo of the full solar eclipse! I remember experiencing a total eclipse in Melbourne, Australia in October 1976 and it still is one of the strongest memories from my childhood - an amazing experience.

Tot: 0.401s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 33; qc: 141; dbt: 0.1761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb