heading to Vietnam


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hainan
April 10th 2012
Published: April 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

In the South China Sea, April 10, 2012



I got up at 5am after a restful night and went to the exercise deck to walk in the cool of the early morning. The sun was just appearing over the South China Sea; some low clouds on the horizon, but no sight of land. A couple of small Chinese fishing boats appeared. I wonder what they could be looking for this far out at sea in boats that look very crude and vulnerable. After a brisk walk of 3 miles I went to the gym and rode a stationary bike for 20 minutes. Breakfast later with a delightful couple from Auckland, New Zealand. They have been all over the globe it seems and summer at a flat in London. We have also met two couples from Squim, WA of all places. I can’t remember their names at the moment, but it is possible some of my Seattle friends may know them.



My computer is having problems and that makes me angry. To take the damned thing this far and then have it start to fail is very unfortunate. The computer guy aboard says that I can still use it but the screen card or something has failed and makes reading the screen difficult. It will likely require repair when I return to Seattle unless I toss it overboard before reaching home. Of course then no one will ever read this report. I will try to add photos in hopes that doesn't tip the balance.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb