White sand. Blue sky. And shit, I'm a bloody lobster.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hainan
January 15th 2006
Published: January 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'd forgotten how much I love the ocean.

I've been in Sanya, Hainan province for the last 5 days, doing a whole lot of nothing in particular. Exploring. Taking photographs. Drinking coconut milk. Eating fresh fruit. Bartering for pearls. Laying on the beach. Shell hunting. Getting lost.

Went diving on Wednesday, which was fantastic. The coral was amazing. We saw sea feathers, huge sea stars, jelly fish, a decent sized lion fish (they catch/eat all of the big fish here), and some other beautiful fish. I found nemo. Actually, he found me. Swam right up into my face.

Snuck into Yalong Bay through a 5-star hotel to avoid paying the 60 kuai entrance fee (who wants to pay to use the beach?). 7 km of white sand and turquoise waters. Paradise.

Spent a day getting lost on my own in my attempts to end up at Monkey Island. Eventually found my way after a few sweaty bus rides and a ride on the back of a motorcycle.

I have a couple more days here then I am off to Yunnan where I'll brave the 12 hour overnight bus from Kunming to Lijiang, possibly trek Tiger Leaping Gorge (I'll see it, trek or no trek), then spend some time relaxing in Dali and back to Kunming for the 26th and my flight to Beijing. 3 days in the bitter cold of China's capital city and I'll be homeward bound.




Laura

Advertisement



15th January 2006

Cavanaugh park
I was just thinking about you. Love the guybrush threepwood references too. <3

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb