Steamy!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
June 12th 2015
Published: June 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

'One day it started raining, and it didn’t quit for four months. We been through every kind of rain there is. Little bitty stingin’ rain… and big ol’ fat rain. Rain that flew in sideways. And sometimes rain even seemed to come straight up from underneath. Shoot, it even rained at night...' - Forrest Gump

The last few weeks have been pretty wet. Wet and hot.

A guy at work told me the rain would last for 2 months. Ha I thought, no way. I come from England, 'I've seen proper rain. Turns out he was right. This time of year things get pretty moist.

Still, the massive amounts of rain have been really watering the plants. Everything is getting really lush and green. The track I go running on has turned into a jungle. It's like a scene from Rambo, without the people trying to kill you. Also it was pretty special the other day to drive past a banana tree. Seeing simple things like that remind you where you are in the world. It's like being in Devon and seeing a cow. D'ya know what I mean?

My Chinese is improving everyday. Each time I go somewhere I try to use a bit more of the language. I try to do things on purpose just so I can speak more. People seem to like it. They appreciate the effort. That's the impression I get anyway haha.

More steamy news to come...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb